We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$211
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$156
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
374
401
124
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
401
124
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcanal viewgreat locationthe penthousenoise from the streetwalking distanceroom was largelight sleeperanne frank housesuperior roomfloor roomnoisy at nightgreat roomcentral locationstaff was very friendly and helpfullovely hotelvan gogh museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 938 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights 4 people in 2 rooms and I have only good to say about this hotel. We had large and well light rooms, the one I had probably the best in the house. Not cheap, maybe a somewhat on the expensive side but still fair value for my money as I remember we were there at the very height of the season. Very good breakfast, good dinner at the hotel restaurant, helpful staff, dead center location, what else can a short term visitor expect?

Room Tip: Room facing North-East overlooking the canal, sun through window in the morning. Room 304 large and very accommodating, all be it not cheap. Picture is from room window.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a great place in a very convenient location. It is down the street from the Leidseplein, a short walk from the main shopping area, and only a 10 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and the tram stops in front of the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, fronting on the Prinsengracht with a very comfortable bed and good amenities, including free WiFi. Even though the tram was close and lots of people on the street, noise was not a problem. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What more to like? I will return here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the Prinsengracht.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms on the front of the building were comfortable and quiet with a good view of the canal. The heating control in one room was not working (nor the heated towel rail in the bathroom of the other). We would have liked the option of a continental breakfast at a cheaper price so found breakfast elsewhere-which was not easy before 9.30am.
We changed rooms after the first night having been given a room at the back which was gloomy and with a long walk with steep stairs from the lift (not good for the infirm!). The room on the front was the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
66
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We (me, my wife, and 12yo daughter) stayed here last week for 3 nights, rounding off our short European tour of Paris and Amsterdam. My wife had found this location on the Euro-Rail website, after booking our train from Paris to Amsterdam; if you plan on making the same trip, the rail is the way to go - simple on / off, and the seats were very adequate (although the WiFi was not functioning enroute, so I listened to music while brain-numbingly staring out the window at the countryside passing by). We arrived in Amsterdam on an early Sunday afternoon (thank God, because if it had been rush hour, I think that we would have been more than discombobulated). Anyhow, only knowing that we could board a tram at the station (the 1,3, or 5 if I remember correctly) and pay onboard, we jumped on the back of the next correct tram, waiting for someone to come by and collect our fees ($2.80 Euro each); well, we watched as rider after rider got on and scanned their subscription card. Finally, the doors closed and off we went, having not paid, and receiving more than a few disappointed glares from the Nederlanders on board. If the hotel had been closer to the station (it is on the 4th canal in the ring - Prinsengracht), we might have walked, but seeing that we had all of our luggage, the tram was the only viable option. Anyhow, when we got to the correct stop, off we stepped, having not paid (unintentional, but illegal nonetheless), still confused who we were to pay (subsequently, we learned that you need to enter the first door and pay the conductor, directly, and exact change is preferred).
When we arrived to DTFH (much easier to say for this non-Dutch speaker), we found the hotel to be about 30yrds from the tram stop. On entering, you are initially impressed by the modern and clean feel that this boutique hotel exudes. The girls at the desk were very friendly, and as is the case everywhere in Amsterdam, they spoke perfectly good English. We found out that, despite having booked online, we actually had two reservations (2 rooms). After this was sorted out, we rode the lift up to the second floor to the "triple" - a rather large room with 2 single beds pushed together to form the "master" w/ and single on the adjacent wall for our daughter (romance took a back seat on this trip, as you could imagine). By European standards, the room was expansive. We dropped off our things, and we were off to visit Anne Frank's house, the Rembrandt house, Dam Square, etc. After a long day, the room was very comfortable and inviting, and the two separate beds pushed together, each with their own linens, proved to be perfect for a good night's sleep. The next morning, however, we had a little issue. After showering, we noticed large puddles of water forming on the bathroom floor; it appeared that the commode was leaking from the wall. Upon notifying the staff on our way out for the day, we returned later to find that we had to move our things to the 4th floor, same room. It was a blessing in disguise, as the 2nd story was rather loud, seeing that it overlooked the main drag, Leidsestraat. Once again, the accommodations were identical. Of note, the hotel will allow free WiFi access, but it permits only one individual from a party / room to access at the same time. This was a bit of hassle, with us trying to email pics and FaceTime all of the time. I don't know if a simple call to the desk would have changed that, but we never bothered, so the complaint may be just an over site on our part.
Of particular interest, there is a croissanterie just across the street, making a grab-and-go breakfast very doable. Also, just a short walk (< 2 blocks) out of town on Leidsestraat, we found various pubs, restaurants, and shops (practical ones, too, so that you can gather supplies if need be). The location was perfect.
The hotel also has an attached restaurant by the same name; one can enter from the street or toward the rear of the hotel lobby. We ate there our last night in town, and it was very good. Luckily for us, we brought some nice clothes, as the clientele seemed to be locals or non-Americans, all well-dressed. It provides a pre-fixe menu with some interesting, and presumably Dutch, options. Not inexpensive but we did not break the bank, either.
Leaving the DTFH was as easy as getting there, although we paid this time! We took the tram back to the station, boarded the train to the airport (purchasing tickets for this "commuter" rail was easy, using the yellow machines in the station - many take credit cards and others take exact change, but despite warnings that we found online, all the machines we looked at DID provide an English option - again, valuable to these non-Dutch speakers). Most importantly, the train was cheap (less than $4 Euro each, I think), rapid, and drops you off just below the airport, allowing very easy access.
Overall, the DTFH was a very nice place to stay; I might have given it 5/5 if we did not have the inconvenience of changing rooms after a long day (at least one was available, as the toilet had literally been ripped from the wall when we went to get our things!) and if the hotel was more sound-proof. As far as price, it was nearly half as much as what we had paid in Paris for similar accommodations. More importantly, we would be willing to stay here again if our travels take us to Amsterdam in the future; that means more than anything else, I believe.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal would be quieter, I imagine, but the only "triples" overlook the adjacent street, with its tram stop and loud late-night party-going crowd (at times).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews