We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #73 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here after reading the reviews. Wanted a smaller non chain hotel and this didn't disappoint. Good sized room, with a balcony over the canal. No need to get a taxi here you can get the train almost to the doorstep.

If this is your first time in Amsterdam then its a perfect location - out of the seedier areas, but within walking distance to the majority of attractions.

Don't bother with breakfast - there is a bakery / fruit seller across the street.

Highly recommend this place - great :) - will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NantwichGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    333
    100
    25
    11
See reviews for
92
364
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is a four star one, however location is best in town, no doubt. Staff is great, rooms are spacious, clean and neat, breakfast ok. Highest possible rating from us, very good value for money. Perfect choice for travellers who do not expect five star amenities like swimming pool and gym, etc. The fact that the tram stops in front of the hotel is both positive in the sense of easy transport, but also negative for the noise level that might bother some visitors.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise from the tram, try to book a room overlooking the canal (Prinsengra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osman k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ferriby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This trip was a surprise gift from my fiancee for my birthday. All had been booked over the internet and I had nothing to do except drive to the airport in England. We arrived at the hotel after a good flight and a taxi ride from Amsterdam Airport. We had originally a double booked but my fiancee thought she had booked and paid for a superior room with a canal view. They gave us this room without a problem although it was surcharged over what had been paid biut that was the fault of the third party website and not the hotel. The room was excellent and the service from the hotel was very good.
The room was well appointed and very comfortable and not bad value for money.The onl;y downside was that it was the weekend, Saturday night and the noise from the street outside did not abate until around 04:00. This is not the Hotel's fault but if I had stayed there for longer than just a romantic weekend Dutch dash it would have been a problem.

Room Tip: Buy a superior room for the space and go as high as you can up the hotel for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and while Amsterdam is an expensive city, we thought it was good value for what is was and its location. We arrived early after 25 hours flying from Sydney. I was not feeling too flash and they managed to get us into a room by 10am - I was very appreciative of this! The room was spacious and well-appointed. Our room looked out over a canal was was right on a tram stop. The included breakfast was very good and we worked our way through some delicious Dutch cheeses. The staff were very helpful with all our requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

First of all, it's so easy to get to it. It can't take you more than 30 minutes to get there from the airport and the tram stops right in front of it.

We had a pleasant surprise to find out our room is on the 5th floor and we got a small charming balcony with a great view over the city. Amsterdam does not have tall buildings in it's center so the 5th floor is panoramic :)

Very large rooms, a bit old furniture, an okay mini-bar (nothing fancy), and a bathroom with a tub. Starbucks, boulangerie, fruit-shop and bike rental place very near by.

The DOWNSIDE: the rooms are poor in terms of noise. We heard everything going around on our floor. I'm a sound sleeper, my girlfriend isn't, so that's maybe a dealbreaker for those who can't sleep unless it's perfectly quiet.

Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room 503.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MihaiBrasoveanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Dikker & Thijs Hotel is a small, boutique hotel in one of the best, if not the best location in Amsterdam! Overlooking one of the main canals, one block from the Leidespleine, a tram stop right outside the hotel door and the cross line a block away. A short walk to the "DAM" and the center of the city. The hotel is wonderful; my room was large and luxurious. I could open my windows and door onto the balcony overlooking the canal. The bathroom was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of fluffy pillows. A tv with lots of channels, even some in English, mini fridge, writing desk, lots of storage and room to stretch out. The D&TH is great for price, location, style, class and cleanliness, a real find! The main thing is, you can walk anywhere from here, or take the tram. My advice--by a week-long pass, you'll be riding like a local in no time!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights 15th - 18th May and in thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We have stayed at The Hampshire Beethooven Hotel that was a bit out of the way and not nearly as good as The Dikker & Thijs Hotel. We also have stayed at the Victoria Plaza Hotel opposite Central Station of which we found to be too busy and again not as good as this hotel.

The location is excellent and hotel was very comfortable indeed. Our room (305) was an upper floor looking over the canal. The room was spacious looking out of a large bay window over the canal with comfortable double bed and good sized bathroom. The room had a fridge/mini-bar. The general decor was good and room cleaned/linen changed every day. If we were to recommend a hotel to anybody going to Amsterdam then we woul definately recommend this one.

There are plenty of lovely little local bars/cafes nearby and was great to get away form the main drag and enjoy some local culture and cuisine.

The no. 1, 2 & 5 trams stop on the bridge outside the hotel and you can access all areas of the city from there.

In summary - if in doubt book this hotel as its a little gem.

Room Tip: For a good view then ask for 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cammie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#31 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing