We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel is located in one best locations of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #71 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Renens
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hotel is located in one best locations of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We choose Dikker & Thijs Fenice hotel because of it's location. This hotel is located close to Amsterdam's Leidseplein and in the middle of Amsterdams heart.

The perfect location to visit Amsterdam by feet (anyway it is better to leave your car at a safe place and visit the center walking)

We booked a room with view on the Prinsengracht. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom, bed room and sitting area.

The breakfast is a self-service continental breakfast (with omelettes and grilled bacon) with a variety of Dutch cheese and meats.

The service at the reception is very profiession and efficient

Positive:
Probable one of the best locations in Amsterdam
Spacious room

Negative:
Pricy
Has no own car parking facilities
Wifi is not included in the room price

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the city nightlife center. to avoid outside noise coming in select a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinylmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    344
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
98
378
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is situated on Prinsengracht and we find that almost all places to visit are near the hotel. It is also near to where the night life is in Amsterdam. The room itself is clean. Nice bathroom with tub. Rooms are soundproof. The room isnt big but is sufficient since you will be in Amsterdam for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maldita1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed 2 nights while attending a trade show at the Rai. In bad weather the walk to the tram would have been too long, but we were luck and enjoyed the 10 minute stroll through town and past the flower market. The hotel staff were very nice and the location is great, except that my room faced the main road and the noise at night was unbearable. From what I saw some of the rooms are very nice (mine was) and some very plain and with showers only (my first room). When I asked to move to a room with a full bath the hotel was happy to accomodate - only that night when I couldn't get any sleep because of the noiaw did I realize why the first room, albeit not as nice, would have been the better choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scizin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in room 504, the top floor of the hotel, facing the canal. This was our second stay at the hotel. The location is great – Amsterdam is a small town, and the hotel is located a quick walk or tram to all venues. We requested a high floor because the area is so touristy and the crowds linger long into the evening. We heard no street noise. The bed was very nice. The bathroom has no shade/curtain/privacy – so you’ll be a bit exhibitionist while you suds up – but the fifth floor is higher than most other buildings around, so not a huge deal. There’s a small, shabby balcony with two chairs. The balcony could really use a makeover and would be a great selling point. Right now it’s an ugly afterthought with poor, uneven and wet flooring and no charm. The room is large, feels a bit worn down. There’s duct tape on the A/C unit, the first thing I noted. Because this hotel is not cheap – and we had a good experience here three years ago – I was disappointed with the room quality. There’s nothing in the way of amenities – no robes, slippers or good bath products. You can get room service but it’ll cost you 10 euros. Wifi is extra. The front desk was efficient. So – the hotel is in a good location and the room experience was OK. Not great, not horrible, just fine. Considering the cost, this hotel could make small improvements that would make a huge difference. Just a few plants and some attention to the balcony would be a great start – and maybe some nice bath products. We won’t return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Great location on a canal and in a happenin' part of town, the Leidseplein. You can walk everywhere from this hotel. Staff is gracious, knowledgeable, and very helpful. Our room was a LOVELY surprise, large and spacious, clean and well appointed. This is one of the few hotels are that is equipped with an elevator, and in Amsterdam with the narrow stairways, that amenity is PRICELESS. Our only complaint would have to be the tram RIGHT outside our window. Had to sleep with earplugs. The suites on the backside of the hotel are much larger but super quiet, and of course more expensive. Couldn't beat the location and the staff. Might I also recommend the small corner Pattiserie across the street for FANTABULOUS eats.

Room Tip: Suites will be quieter than the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you are looing for an hotel in a great location - overlooking the canal - you couldn't do better. It is perfectly situated for museums galleries and the sites all in a short walk. The room we had - paid for overlooking the canal - was very roomy, light and comfortable.

Didn't eat in the hotel - why would you when such tremedous options nearby and the breakfast is expec=nsive - as everyone says - so eat at a nearby cafe. Surprisingly quiet for one so well located.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for canal view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Perfect location in old Amsterdam. Ideal for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in a busy (and touresty) part of Amsterdam with plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. Good for business as it is right in the tram line.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin_Sargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#86 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing