We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #71 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
268 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very good location with everything within walking distance. The staff were very professional and friendly. My room was spacious and I could feel comfortable. Bath products were nice, bathroom in my room was also acious though no tub even though one could have easily fit. Nice view to the channel. Breakfast was good but expensive.
No free WiFi-access available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    333
    100
    25
    11
See reviews for
92
364
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a superior room, was very big comfortable and clean. Not too much noise, mostly from the penthouse above. Would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Can't argue with the other reviews here. Location is good - just out of the city centre but within walking distance to everything; our room (at the top) was spacious, clean and cosy (although we had to endure two single beds put together rather than a 'proper' double, not unusual in Northern Europe, but I loathe this). It's got lots of character, and lots of stairs (not a problem for me, but might be for some); the main problem as others have noted is the street noise, which basically continues all night, so avoid if you want something quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed at Dikker in September 2011. Absolutely the best location. Others complained about noise, etc. We had a room with balcony overlooking canal. It was so interesting watching the boaters. Not a problem at all. Room was a superior room with king bed, very large with wonderful amenities. If there was one fault was that the room had a tub with shower. It was very slippery when wet so be very careful getting in and out. Found staff very helpful answering questions. Again, great location for museums and general sightseeing in a good area. Does appear pricey but it's Amsterdam and a boutique hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for canal view, costs more but it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed with my wife 3 nights on 1st Oct. (her birthday present). We had a large double on the 2nd floor. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. From other reviews we were well aware of the noise level from trams and late night revellers. We missed breakfast as we went to bed late and it would have been a struggle to get up early. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a Starbucks just opp. the hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful. Then the location. Just a minute from Leidesplein with all its bars restaurants coffee shops night clubs and so near to the museums. So for all of these our next stay will surely be the Dikker again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juan070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My son and I stayed here for 4 nights mid september. We had a very large room with twin beds and a seating area that had doors with Juliette balcony overlooking the canal. Had not booked a canal view room but were given one anyway. Our room was on the 2nd floor around the corner from all the noise of trams and late night drinkers so we weren't bothered by any noise.Had breakfast on 2 occasions had plenty of choice but somewhat extorionate price of 17 euros.Reception staff variable mostly pleasant but one staff member pretty disinterested answering questions.Internet in our room poor signal so mostly used the lounge area on 2nd floor for internet access.
Thought overall rather expensive but location very central to Museums, Anne Frank house and lovely Jordaan area.Would use hotel again

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The room was a disappointment : the bed was packed between 2 walls, which means the only possibility to go to bed was from the feet side. No space to put glasses or a watch. Furthermore, the room was overall noisy, as the phonic isolation seemed weak. I wrote an email to the staff to mention those points, but never received any answer...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#56 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing