We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underrated excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #55 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel review sites and the hotel website itself dont give a clear idea of how amazin this hotel is. The location is perfect if you want something central but not too noisey. A 20 min bus journey (197) from schipol gets you pretty much to the doorstep of this hotel. The staff are immensely helpful and given that I paid for a 'standard double room', I got the largest room I have ever seen with beautiful canal views from the first floor. Minibars ar teh bain of my travelling life with stupid pricing. This hotel is the most reasonable I have seen. Anything and everything is in walking distance and I dont think I would stay in any other hotel. Any other reviewers who have given this hotel a less than perfect score are unreasonably critical

Room Tip: try room 107 - first floor with canal views
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelestialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for Dikker & Thijs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 871 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our first impression with the hotel was during the check-in. Alas the lady was so unfriendly that I had to be almost as rude as her just in order to get the things going, get our room and leave the reception.

The room was nice but not what you would expect from an hotel in the 4 star category, I would rate it as a 3-star because the furniture was worn out and the equipments just average. I have been to better 3-stars hotels in Amsterdam, not to mention the staff which almost made us leave without checking-in.

The third disappointment was the isolation: our bed was placed against a wall from which you could hear all details of the neighbours' bathroom. Fortunately that did not wake me up because I was already up at 6:30 as the windows did not sufficiently isolate from the streets noise. I guess there is nothing to do about it but once more, you would expect better from a 4-star hotel.

All in all the worst hotel we've been to in Amsterdam, such a pity because the location is perfect. Just pick another one, there are plenty around.

Room Tip: So high possible, canal view or back.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attila23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have been to Amsterdam many times before and it is always a challenge to find a decent hotel. A typical hotel room is a tiny dark cupboard at the top of impossibly steep stairs and the bathrooms normally require acrobatic skills.

My room at the Dikker and Thijs was easily accessible by a nice elevator. The room was very bright and very spacious and since I was in a corner room I had a commanding view of the Prinzengracht canal. The bathroom was very large and had a huge tub that was wonderful for a long soak after a long day of walking around.

The location is fantastic with a tram stop right outside the door providing super easy access to everything. If you prefer walking nothing is very far. The hotel is also a good starting point for simply wandering up and down the canals.

If you are into cafes and restaurants and nightlife, the Leidesplein right around the corner provides a good starting point.

Beware, the breakfast is an outrageous 17 euros and totally not worth it. There are plenty of places within easy walking distance where you can find a nicer breakfast and better coffee for less than 10 euros.

I did not try the restaurant because they recently changed the menu to expensive, fussy gourmet food and there are maybe more interesting choices within a 5 minute walk.

If your scene in Amsterdam is the drugs and red light district, please give this hotel a miss. It will not suit you. Look for something in the area near the centraal train station instead.

Also, this hotel has a very strict no smoking policy (150 euro fine!) so if you are a heavy smoker this hotel is not for you either. I detest cigarette smoke so for me this added to the attraction of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal - the corner rooms on the canal are the best
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for our first romantic trip away together in a few years, we booked a meet and greet taxi through the hotel and he picked us up and brought us directly there and couldnt have been nicer! I had contacted the hotel beforehand and arranged for some champagne and strawberries (which were the nicest and juiciest I have ever had!) to be in the room, and they were. We had booked a canal view room and it was amazing, bathtub, seperate toilet, beautiful views of the canal yet our sleep wasnt interrupted by passers by late at night. This hotel is very central, with a tram stop just outside the door. It is close to the Leidesplein - entertainment area, also the Vondelpark and Van Gogh Museum is within walking distance. We spent a lot of time just walking around different streets from the hotel. Room was serviced every day and the staff were always available for questions or advice. We didnt eat in the restaurant as from the look of the menu it just wasnt to our taste but there are plenty of areas close by to eat in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridUiChadhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in the Dikker & Thijs hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much.
Our room was specious, comfortable and clean, we didn't have a canal view but we had a big window facing the street, with a lot of light coming through it.
Even though located on one of Amsterdam's busiest streets, the double plated windows are extremely effective in keeping the noise out.
From very few interactions, staff seems to be nice and helpful.
Location is excellent for touring Amsterdam; walking distance to all main attractions, tram station just outside the hotel, and lots of bars, restaurants and coffee shops near by.

Considering the reasonable pricing - great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asaf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We picked this hotel for a 3 night stay based on other reviews on TA. We were extremely pleased with the service, the position ( a great spot on a canal and so close to a tram line!) and the general helpfulness of the staff. The basic rooms are not large but more than adequate for two people. One thing we noticed is that there is a very nice lounge area on a mezzanine floor above the bar/restaurant which we were not told about, but is perfect for time out from the room, to read or just chat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The room was great with lots of windows which did not open, fun view, clean, BUT
the (sink) water did not work for one night. No help was offered, not even a bottle of water. As we checked in, a couple checking out said the internet never worked. We got it to work but it was free for 30 minutes then you had to pay. The elevator did not work one morning and evening. The staff was utterly nonchalant to outright snippy. I added a night, they said it would be no problem, then they "forgot" and we we told the room was taken for the night and we had to leave. Also, they lock the doors whenever the deskperson leaves the desk, no sign, no notice, not even a "Be back in 5 minutes". They just don't care. Breakfast is overpriced and only goes until 9:30. The coffee and bagel place on the corner is much cheaper and friendlier.

Room Tip: The first floor canal view has a lot of windows that look right out on the street and everyone can s...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktoui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#78 of 371 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 371 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $154 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing