We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A decent hotel but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #154 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A decent hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

A decent hotel in a very central and well connected area of Amsterdam, ideal if you want to be near the museum district, the flower market and walking distance to the main shopping district.

The problem is that it is situated on a popular night life spot and therefore rooms facing the square suffer from a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning.

On the plus side, rooms are fairly nice and clean even though they're rather small and the staff are very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was what is expected from a 4 star hotel although the buffet could do with being restocked more frequently with fresh produce as things were a bit stale towards the final hour of service.

All and all a decent hotel for the price and star rating and if you bag an online offer then it can be good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CKLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    537
    283
    105
    60
See reviews for
134
590
82
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I read TripAdvisor before we went to this hotel and was ready at reception to deal with the reported problem of noisy rooms. On checking in I said about the reviews all reporting the noise at the front of the hotel and asked for a quiet room at the back.
'No problem' and gave me a room 318. This turned out to be on the side wall of the hotel , shared with 2 clubs!!! The base sounds went on well into the night and sleep was impossible.
The following morning they reassigned us to an up graded room in the back,centre of the hotel...which was great.
Shame it took 3 goes, and a rubbish night to get it right.

Room Tip: Be insistent at checking in that you want a quiet room, unless you are going clubbing anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I been amsterdam a good few times a year and is my favourite city my. First time staying at the nh schiller and was concerned with the reviews of noise and yet I never found it a problem , I booked for a standard double a month ago and on arrival was upgraded for free to a gorgeous spacious room on the first floor with a gorgeous huge balcony with amazing views of the square. I am 27 so I don't mind noise but I didn't hear any I woke each morning to beautiful views of the square and people starting there day. The service was amazing and a very clean place I will be coming back ! Close to everything and brilliant for couples

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked this through Lastminute.com using one of their "top secret" hotels. A mistake we shall not make again. Hadn't done this before but thought it might be fun! When we had booked and then the hotel was revealed, we were a little concerned at reading the reviews on Schiller, especially about them supplying earplugs, but thought we'd go with it anyway.
The hotel is tired and in my opinion is no way worthy of 4 stars. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the square, which looked very pretty with all the lights. The room was smallish, but would have been adequate if it weren't for the ridiculous lack of storage. There was just one single wardrobe (photos below) which contained the safe and the tea and coffee making facilities and some hangers for half height hanging. When putting a t-shirt on a hanger it then draped all over the cups etc. No drawers or even hooks on backs of doors so nowhere to hang long winter coats.
But the noise from Rembrandt square was horrendous until the early hours. Coupled with a not very comfy bed either.
Next morning we asked to change rooms and this was happily done to a slightly larger room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel (with some storage!) This did help with the noise issue to a certain degree, but it was just so loud that we could still hear the bass beating away at 3:30am and again the bed was wickedly firm.
Cleanliness was adequate, nice crisp sheets.
Breakfast was fabulous. If you book the day before it is 15 euros otherwise 20 euros on the morning. We did pre-book but the bill given to us each morning was for 20, but was amended when mentioned. Plenty of juices, breads and pastries, chesses and meats, cereals, yogurts, fruits and gorgeous tiny pancakes. Kept me going all day long.
But no matter how good the breakfast we shall not be going back.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a soundproofed one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braintree
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We left the hotel this morning after spending two days in the city.

After an early morning flight, a short train ride to the central amsterdam station we took a tram to rembrandtsplein. Needn't have bothered should have walked as it's about 15 minutes walk.

Hotel easy to find and allowed us to checkin at 11:00 given it was a Monday morning, still appreciated as we could dump our bags and hit the streets early. We did see a few bags behind the reception desks so looks like you have a safe place to leave your stuff if necessary.

We were provided with a great room, #417, facing the front of the hotel. We were provided with earplugs but didn't need them given the time of year. Front facing was great though as we had a great view of the square.

We had breakfast one of the days and for 15 euros it represented excellent value for money. Hot and cold selection. Normal fare.

Plenty of access to the old town from this hotel no need for tram passes etc as you can walk everywhere.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but would have done if we were there for more time.

In short great hotel, great staff, a little dated but safe (safe in room) clean and very well priced.

100% satisfied.

Hotel has art deco style, all original :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrenny1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed 3 night i booked a junior suite from 11th of january till 14th the check inn took a second the lady at check inn was so friendly and smiling the room was of a good size and a view of a back yard and other houses which was nice and quite this was my first time staying at nh schiller and defiantly i will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the junior suit its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaLaL_ShaNe3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, NHHotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing