We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“In summer, it will be loud...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #148 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In summer, it will be loud...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel is on Rembrandtplein, one of the centers of Amsterdam nightlife. My stay was a very cold week in the fall. So closing the windows at night was not a problem. So all-night noise was not a problem . On a hot summer night (the rooms don't have a/c) the noise would have been an issue. Not only the drunks yelling most of the night, but the tram bells sound late and start early. (To their credit, the hotel provides earplugs.)

It's a pretty typical hotel of it's type. Aging and clinging to former glory. The rooms are an OK size, but closer to 3-star quality then what I expect in a 4-star hotel. My mattress and bedding was the kind you'd expect find in a 2-3 star hotel.

The lobby and restaurant are great. Very comfortable and elegant. I used both for business meetings. Breakfast was above average for Amsterdam hotels.

I would stay there again, in the fall or winter, if the price compares to 3-star hotel, I don't think I'd risk it in the summer. I'm not a light sleeper. I've lived in cities. I expect there to be noise in city hotels. But Amsterdam is a very quiet city at night, with just a few loud areas. This is one of them.

Room Tip: Rooms on Rembrandtplein have an interesting view. Room in the back probably have less of a noise iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    520
    273
    96
    50
See reviews for
128
562
81
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A charming hotel with plenty of character.The location is very central which is ideal for sightseeing, but can be a bit noisy at night. The food in the hotel was excellent. We had only booked bed and breakfast, but we enjoyed it so much that we had lunch there one day and dinner the following evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was chosen based on price and location. Amsterdam can be really be a busy city during holidays or trade fair seasons.
Rembrandtplein-located, near all of the main attractions and within walking distance for all of them. There are two tram lines from the Central Station to the door of the hotel.
The building is quite old and one can see that in the structure of the place. There are two lifts, a very old one and a newer one and although the hotel was fully booked while we were there it never took us much time to get in.
The room was board only, we did not have breakfast included and at 20 € per person we did not buy it there considering that there was a starbucks right outside of the hotel.
Wifi is complimentary although they do not appreciate having to print out for you (things like boarding passes)
The room was large enough for a weekend and a good thing was that it faced an inner courtyard (not really pretty but really silent). The square outside is CROWDED during the weekends with loads of people drinking and making noise. Coffee maker in the room. Tall bathtub (be careful when you come out of the shower!) Well appointed room and bathroom with a magnifying mirror and hairdrier.
Nice, clean, central, not too expensive... I have no complaints and therefore I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent only one night here due to a mix up at our other hotel and ended up wishing we'd spent all our nights here. It is, I consider, simply the best location in Amsterdam. Forget staying near Dam Square, this is the place to be with the lovely Rembrandtplein outside in which to sit and enjoy the atmosphere, and everything you want to see just a few stops away on the tram.
We arrived early and only one our rooms was ready. They let us check in and leave all our luggage and promised us that our other room would be ready soon and that they would be close together. Not to waste the day, we left. But when we came back much later the staff had given our other room to someone else and put the other half of our party (my two teenagers) in an upgraded room at no extra cost. It did mean they were on a seperate floor but they weren't worried. The staff were very helpful about other things too. They gave us maps of the city, were very informative about everything we asked about, and very friendly. When we checked out we were able to leave our bags, with no cost, to collect them when we were ready.
Both our rooms were lovely and clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were just the right temperature and bathrooms also clean with great furnishings. The upgraded room was huge. We slept well. There is a bar/restaurant on site but we didn't use it as breakfast wasn't included in the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devongirlie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service: 4/10
Reception gave me another person's room to me. When the other person arrived, he almost walked in on me naked.

Cleanliness: 7/10
Lobby looks dirty and there's a little foul smell. Room is surprisingly clean and smells good. When I entered the lobby, I thought the hotel would be terrible. Luckily the room is good.

Wifi: 3/10
Free wifi is extremely slow.......

Location: 8/10
There'a s tram station right outside the hotel which will take you to PC Hooftstraat (Branded Shopping Street). It is also 15 minutes walking distance. So you can choose between walking and tram. Red Light district is also 15 minutes walking distance.

Restaurants around the hotel: 8/10
The hotel is along Rembrandtplein where many great restaurants resides.
- Pelangi - Indonesian food is only 3 doors away. They offers great rice tables. The "rendang" is a must try.
- Wagamama - Japanese food. The ribs there is great!
- La Madonnina - Italian. Great Tortellini
- Club Smokey - 2 doors away. Their "brownies" are one of the better tasting ones in amsterdam..

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are those away from the streets. Do note that as there are many coffee shops nearby. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. My room was rather small but I would not mind it if it was really clean. Unfortunately it was very dusty - there was a dus layer in the table and a thick dust layer on skirting-boards. Furthermore, the room was smelly! The bathroom smelled of sewage and the room smelled mouldy.
Beware that the Rembrandt square is a very busy and noisy place.
On the positive side: free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylwiaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a conference nearby and this was a great hotel to stay. Even though it's located in Rembrandt square, which is busy 24/7, if you get a room at the back of the hotel you won't hear a thing. The rooms are decent and there is wifi in them, though not very fast. The beds are ok, although they could use some oil, the springs are quite loud. But still, for a business visit, great hotel, easy location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidHalford82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#234 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 2,072 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#60 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#110 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing