We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$211
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$140
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveler rating
480
649
344
142
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
649
344
142
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrembrandt squaregreat locationfront facinglight sleepernoisy at nighttram stopcentral locationbars and restaurantsflower marketmini barlarge roomstandard roomby footred light districtrembrandtpleinnoisertl
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My room was on the fourth floor toward the street and it was extremely loud. This I was prepared for - after all it is a very central location and ear plugs are supplied. However, my room was also dirty in many places and this is not okay. A room can be small - especially in older buildings in Amsterdam to be expected - but there was still soap scum in the bathroom from people before me and this was not cleaned the three days I spend there. Also there was chocolate (or at least it looked like chocolate) on the desk matt and the nightstands where also not clean. Breakfast was oaky - although very expensive. Do not bring a lot of clothes as there is hardly any place to put them. The small closet had shelves where snacks and the hot water heater are kept so if you hang up a pair of trousers the will most like dangle in the potato chip bag and coffee. There was no place to hang up a coat. However, there are huge nice bath towels and I also had a bath tub. My opinion - great for a weekend or so if you are a tourist - however not a good choice for a business trip.

Room Tip: Toward the back if you are planning on actually sleeping...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monika_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my first ever review of a hotel but this hotel was so outstanding value I have to recommend it. I always consult trip advisor when booking places and the negative reviews of the hotel are not justified at all.. the hotel is in a great location, the staff are welcoming and friendly and the rooms are modern and spacious.. Really what more do people want ????? The staff went out of there way to help us find places and suggest attractions and provided us with a map and also discount vouchers for attractions. We stayed two nights and didn't hear a peep of noise from the square.. it is a city guys so there is bound to be some noise but we heard nothing !!
Would definatley go back and stay again .. Ideal for a city break!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniella_B500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location. friendly staff(not trivial in Amsterdam). upgraded us to a better and bigger room since they noticed in the passport that it was my sister's birthday (6th floor view was great). great value for money considering we went off season (might be a lot more expensive in summer). room was small - but that's Amsterdam if you want to stay in the centre. clean. smiling and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Abale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have just returned from Amsterdam and had an excellent stay. Arrived at our hotel around 11 and they allowed us to check in straight away (usual check in 3). Every member of staff we spoke to was extremely polite and friendly making you feel welcome. They were all more than happy to help out with any queries we had.
I could not fault our room in any way. When it comes to a room I want three things and they are for it to be clean, have a good shower, and a comfortable bed. Our room scored top marks on each. The excellent standard of cleanliness in the room continued throughout the whole hotel.
A buffet breakfast was included with our stay, which was great as it meant we never left the hotel with an empty stomach.
The location of the hotel was also excellent. Most things were within walking distance, but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reading a number of mixed reviews about the Schiller and seeing a couple unflattering photos we were a little worried about our stay. Many reviews stated the the rooms were old and small and the hotel was in need of a touch-up. While we had initially booked 6 nights, we decided to change our booking to only stay 3 and booked the other 3 at a hotel that was more our style (Doubletree).

Soon after arriving however it became pretty obvious that our worries were unfounded and that the Schiller is an excellent hotel. The hotel is located pretty much right in the middle of the city centre between virtually all attractions and close to a metro station. Since the NH Schiller was so perfectly placed, we were able to walk directly from Centraal Station (reasonably long walk with luggage in the cold but not that bad) and to all attractions. Although many reviews mention the loud noises coming from parties outside, we did not hear anything at night and had a great sleep. We did however stay at the back of the hotel during a weekday so the immediate area was not that busy.

The breakfast was surprisingly good and varied (though probably not worth it if not already included) and the service was friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Ali for helping me find the Ajax game on TV.

Overall its really hard to find anything negative with this hotel. Although the rooms were maybe starting to show signs of age (a few cracks, bumps etc), we were able to easily overlook this. While we didn't have particularly high expectations, we were actually quite disappointed that we had changed our reservations around and weren't staying at the NH Schiller for longer. When we come back to Amsterdam, the Schiller will almost certainly be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are much quieter
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidplustanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews