We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiller
Ranked #151 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good location, but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My room was on the fourth floor toward the street and it was extremely loud. This I was prepared for - after all it is a very central location and ear plugs are supplied. However, my room was also dirty in many places and this is not okay. A room can be small - especially in older buildings in Amsterdam to be expected - but there was still soap scum in the bathroom from people before me and this was not cleaned the three days I spend there. Also there was chocolate (or at least it looked like chocolate) on the desk matt and the nightstands where also not clean. Breakfast was oaky - although very expensive. Do not bring a lot of clothes as there is hardly any place to put them. The small closet had shelves where snacks and the hot water heater are kept so if you hang up a pair of trousers the will most like dangle in the potato chip bag and coffee. There was no place to hang up a coat. However, there are huge nice bath towels and I also had a bath tub. My opinion - great for a weekend or so if you are a tourist - however not a good choice for a business trip.

Room Tip: Toward the back if you are planning on actually sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monika_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    569
    295
    112
    60
See reviews for
140
636
83
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my first ever review of a hotel but this hotel was so outstanding value I have to recommend it. I always consult trip advisor when booking places and the negative reviews of the hotel are not justified at all.. the hotel is in a great location, the staff are welcoming and friendly and the rooms are modern and spacious.. Really what more do people want ????? The staff went out of there way to help us find places and suggest attractions and provided us with a map and also discount vouchers for attractions. We stayed two nights and didn't hear a peep of noise from the square.. it is a city guys so there is bound to be some noise but we heard nothing !!
Would definatley go back and stay again .. Ideal for a city break!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniella_B500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location. friendly staff(not trivial in Amsterdam). upgraded us to a better and bigger room since they noticed in the passport that it was my sister's birthday (6th floor view was great). great value for money considering we went off season (might be a lot more expensive in summer). room was small - but that's Amsterdam if you want to stay in the centre. clean. smiling and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Abale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have just returned from Amsterdam and had an excellent stay. Arrived at our hotel around 11 and they allowed us to check in straight away (usual check in 3). Every member of staff we spoke to was extremely polite and friendly making you feel welcome. They were all more than happy to help out with any queries we had.
I could not fault our room in any way. When it comes to a room I want three things and they are for it to be clean, have a good shower, and a comfortable bed. Our room scored top marks on each. The excellent standard of cleanliness in the room continued throughout the whole hotel.
A buffet breakfast was included with our stay, which was great as it meant we never left the hotel with an empty stomach.
The location of the hotel was also excellent. Most things were within walking distance, but there is a tram stop right outside the hotel if you don't want to walk.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reading a number of mixed reviews about the Schiller and seeing a couple unflattering photos we were a little worried about our stay. Many reviews stated the the rooms were old and small and the hotel was in need of a touch-up. While we had initially booked 6 nights, we decided to change our booking to only stay 3 and booked the other 3 at a hotel that was more our style (Doubletree).

Soon after arriving however it became pretty obvious that our worries were unfounded and that the Schiller is an excellent hotel. The hotel is located pretty much right in the middle of the city centre between virtually all attractions and close to a metro station. Since the NH Schiller was so perfectly placed, we were able to walk directly from Centraal Station (reasonably long walk with luggage in the cold but not that bad) and to all attractions. Although many reviews mention the loud noises coming from parties outside, we did not hear anything at night and had a great sleep. We did however stay at the back of the hotel during a weekday so the immediate area was not that busy.

The breakfast was surprisingly good and varied (though probably not worth it if not already included) and the service was friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Ali for helping me find the Ajax game on TV.

Overall its really hard to find anything negative with this hotel. Although the rooms were maybe starting to show signs of age (a few cracks, bumps etc), we were able to easily overlook this. While we didn't have particularly high expectations, we were actually quite disappointed that we had changed our reservations around and weren't staying at the NH Schiller for longer. When we come back to Amsterdam, the Schiller will almost certainly be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidplustanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really good 4 Star Hotel, our room was spacious, clean and with a wonderful view of the square. Staff was very friendly, we could leave our bags before our flight. Breakfast was also good.
BUT: As mentioned before, Rembrandtsplein is one of the most crowded party areas. And even if you plan to go out and have a good time please remember: Most clubs there close around 4 or 5 and the trams start again in the morning. There are no soundproof windows (we always thought we left the windows open). And although they provide earplugs you might not find it so good to listen to a heated fight between Taxi Drivers (using their horns to make a point) at 4:30... Maybe chose a room towards the back??

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. The room and the bathroom were a good size and they were both spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful and let us leave our bags there after we had checked out so we could enjoy our last afternoon. The location of the hotel is good, there are bars, cafes and restaurants all around, there is a tram stop right outside and it's only a 20 minute walk to Amsterdam Centraal Station or to Dam Square.
The breakfast was also good with a great selection
A small problem is that there is a lot of noise outside the hotel at night because of its central location so this could be a problem for light sleepers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiller
Address: Rembrandtplein 26, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at the sculpted facade of the NH Amsterdam Schiller hotel in Amsterdam, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you'll know you've stumbled upon a place rich with history. Located in Amsterdam's bustling Rembrandt Square, this national monument embodies the essence of the Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing