We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in one of Amsterdam's most delightful districts”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I won't repeat all the details which many other reviewers have given, but this hotel is really very very good for Amsterdam. I've stayed various places including the Seven Bridges and this is much nicer and in a vastly superior part of the city.
It's on the edge of an area called the Nine Streets which has an amazing array of quirky shops and cafes, all independent, unique and totally wonderful. For lunches and snacks try Buffet Odette-amazing sandwiches, quiche, fresh juice, and toffee cake. Or Bagels and Beans on Kaizergracht for brekkie. Frozen Fountain is a wonderful interiors shop on Prinsengracht. In the other direction about 5 minutes away is Kalverstraat-the main big name shopping street, another 5 mins and you are in Dam Square.
The location really is unbeatable.
Finally I would advise people to pay for a superior room -they are much larger and brighter than the standard ones and great value at around £100 a night.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,174 - 3,180 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2007

Both my wife and I stayed at the Estherea for 4 nights in March (12th - 15th.)
This is a fine hotel in a really nice location.
I note from other postings regarding noise associated with refurbishment work underway in the hotel – we never heard any, but spotted likely culprits in overalls on a few occasions early in the morning. The work their engaged in seems very localised and confined to a small area of the hotel.
The general hotel décor and the standard of our room/ bathroom was very good.
The loaction is quite at night with people out for a stroll accompanied by the constant merry-go-round of bicycles passing by.
We got the train from Schipol Airport to Amsterdam Central; tickets can be purchased by credit card (if you wish) from the vending machines for less than €5.00 each.
You can catch the tram from outside the train station if you wish – but we decided on a taxi, cost €10. Five minutes to the hotel from there.
As luck would have it, there was for us the perfect restaurant around the back of the hotel on ‘Spuistraat’ called ‘Haesje Claes’ along with some others equally as good. In addition there is a splendid bar ‘Gollem’ quite literally around the corner, which serves a huge selection of primarily Belgian beers. A word of caution: drink in moderation as the alcohol level in some of these beers is in double digits.
The hotel location is perfect for all the main attractions which can be accessed readily on foot; it’s just a 10 minute stroll to the Anne Frank museum.
We purchased tickets at reception for the canal boat ‘hop on hop off’ service which you can board in front of the Anne Frank.
If ever we return to Amsterdam we will book into the Estherea without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GerryO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

A quiet and upscale view of Amsterdam from the most desired location. It is walking distance to everything and anything and if you can't find what you are looking for, the very helpful staff will be pleased to assist you.
We had a canal view room which was very big by Amsterdam hotel standards. Everything is immaculate and very clean.
Staff are exceptionally helpful, we left our computer plug in the hotel and they had no problem posting it to us the next day. The courteousy was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JezandStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

"This hotel had the aperence of class, very nice lobby, bar, sitting room, resturant. All good and we did enjoy our selfes. The only reason we were ever at this hotel was to sleep. That we could not do. After the first night we were out very late and I was woken up but a hammer saw at 7:30am. Not a great way to wake up. I called and asked that our room be changed because of the noise and they said they would have our things moved to the other side of the hotel while we were gone. Great we thought!!! Untill the next morning when the same thing happend right out side our window. We were only there 2 nights and we loved the rooms. But not the noise. Amsterdam was beautifull. They were very helpfull in telling us where to go. We could buy our canal bus passes right at the front desk and other things I'm sure. Great location! We walked everywhere. When I read the reviews I did read about the noise and I thought what are the chances that the same noise will be going on. I was soo wrong! If you want a good nights sleep chose another Hotel. When we checked out I let them know about the noise bothering me and they comped us our roomservice. 14ero. When you are traveling to as many places as we did in a short amount of time a good night sleep is very important!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacationers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

The previous reviews are right-on. This is a great little place. Location, Staff, Quality, Ambience, all excellent. Online booking and communication was great.
Tasty italian food around the corner, great little pastry shop at the corner. A real winner!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DSR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

11th April 2007
We booked the Estherea through Hotels.nl. and loved our stay from 3rd
to 6th April. From Schiphol airport we got the train from under the airport to Central Station. This was rather confusing for novices - you need to ensure you have enough coins to buy tickets from the machines - 3 Euro 60 each, or pay more at the ticket office. The hotel is almost a mile from there, so we got tram 5 to Spuistraat, from where the hotel was just a short walk. We were lucky to get a large room and bathroom on the top floor, but no view as it looked into the internal courtyard/lightwell. I was disappointed at first because of this, but it turned out not to be a problem as we spent very little time in the room. The room was very well furnished and decorated to a high standard. Everything was immaculately clean. Igor would have changed our room if we'd wanted to, but I soon got to like it. The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The ground floor of the hotel has sumptuous, classically elegant decor, which I loved, and we spent quite a bit of time relaxing and enjoying
this area. The chandeliers are something else. They have put in a lot
of thought here to cater well for guests, with a wide selection of complimentary beverages, in Delft china, on tap constantly in the foyer. Fruit, chocolates, pastries and cookies were also offered. All this can be enjoyed in the comfortable lounges/library/bar - somewhere to relax and enjoy meeting other guests. We enjoyed meeting some American guests - it is a sociable hotel because of these common areas. The tropical fish tank in the lounge area is fabulous - it has an awesome variety of fish, and various beautiful corals growing in it.

The hotel is well located on the Singel Canal, a quietish (not much traffic - mainly bikes) upmarket area, where you are spoilt for choice for bars, cafes, restaurants and pastry shops within easy walking distance. Spuistraat, behind the hotel, has lots of restaurants and ends in Spui Square, which buzzes with cafes and bars. We enjoyed Cafe Luxembourg here. We also enjoyed dutch food at Haesje Claes on Spuistraat, Italian at Casa di David on Singel - lovely ambience, and Indonesian at Cilubang on Runstraat (we had the Reijstaffel, an interesting selection of small dishes rather like tapas). Broodje Bert, next block down, is good for very reasonably priced lunch. (Bertburger was excellent)!

We had lots of rides on the Canal Bus - a fun way to get a good look around the city. We didn't use the trams because you can easily walk to most places from Singel You have to be very 'bike aware' as they are everywhere! I will hire one next time to save my feet from aching at night after so much walking on cobbles. I am already planning to return in the Autumn and would choose to stay at the Estherea again.

Thanks to the staff for a super holiday. Sue and Richard (The Welsh folks from Swansea).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank swanseabayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Just came back from one glorious week in Amsterdam, and the Hotel Estherea could not have been better. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was tastefully decorated, and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The bathroom was plenty big, with a double sink! The hotel is conveniently located on the Canal Belt and is in walking distance to everything Our room was on the fifth floor overlooking a canal, and this hotel even has an elevator. There is always coffee, tea, water, and something sweet to eat in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank tripletmomLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $147 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing