We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estherea
Nearby Hotels
$302
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$337
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$443
$373
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$215
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$261
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$278
$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$905
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$132
$89
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,191)
Filter reviews
4,191 results
Traveler rating
2,934
994
178
46
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,934
994
178
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hotelcanal view roomdam squarecomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areapublic areasanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotellovely roomwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
2,928 - 2,933 of 4,191 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed there with our family and loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect---very close to the action but on a quiet canal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spomatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Where to start? Located on the Singel Canal, this hotel is convenient to most of what you would like to do in Amsterdam. It's a short walk to Dam to catch a tram. There's a GREAT bakery right around the corner - skip the hotel breakfast and get some hot croissants instead. There's also a nice little restaurant on the corner to the left as you leave the hotel that serves off-the-charts great salads. In the alley connecting to Spui Straat, there's a great pub and a beer/wine store. On Spui Straat behind the hotel are several other good restaurants, as well as several "coffeeshops" which don't actually serve coffee; rather they specialize in other treats that may only be found in Amsterdam, if you get my drift. The hotel is upscale without being pretentious. The rooms are comfortable. The staff was uniformly informed and helpful. Taxi to the airport is 43 euros. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights in room 410 - deluxe canal side room. booked through booking.com at a rate of about 200 a night. Given the reviews I was concerned that the room would be small but it was quite large with desk, table and chairs and a day bed in addition to a large bed. Several large windows opened to the canal with a beautiful view. The bathroom was very small and had a partial door which would have been a little odd if I had not been traveling alone. The room was spotless - I have stayed in many hotel rooms and this was the cleanest room I have ever seen. The maids are amazing. The hotel also provides an empty refrigerator which I appreciate rather than one filled with overpriced beverages. Bed was very comfortable. other reviews have already noted coffee maker, cookies and 2 free computers in the lobby. Dont underestimate a great expresso/latte maker on demand as one recovers from jet lag. Staff could not have been more helpful - even the bartenders were charming and the lobby was a nice place to sit with a glass of wine in the evening and read the papaers, watch tv or chat with other guests. had breakfast one day which I thought was very good but at 16 E it was easier to grab some coffee and a crossant around the corner. the location is perfect - I walked everywhere and only needed the tram when my feet gave out. safe location for a woman traveling alone.

My only nits are that the floors are squeaky and you can hear the neighbors above you. I am sure they were not elephants but sounded like they were. some more padding would be appreciated. also be aware that there are boat parties going up and down the canal until the wee hours sometimes and can get noisy - the windows seemed double paned so ok but if noise sensitive then I would suggest a back room> when I go back to Amsterdam I will definately stay here

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attytrav.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Great hotel, five- minute walk to the Dam square.
Very clean, warm colours.
Although the room was a bit small,it was warm, cosy and had wonderful view of the Singel canal. It was a bit noisy from the room above us.
Very nice breakfast buffet.
Great idea the coffee maker that can be used anytime (night or day) and as often desired!!!
Everything was perfect! I would definitly go there again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This Hotel is in the ideal position for exploring Amsterdam. Dam square and tram system are very close by. An easy walk from the main train station too.
We stayed in room 310, it has a wonderful view of a canal. The bed is huge and as such makes the room feel a bit small. The room/hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very cheerful and extremely helpful.
The free tea and coffee/internet access in the lobby is a nice touch which tends to bring guests down from their rooms.
Unique decor makes this Hotel special and gives it a warm comforting feel.
Only a couple of niggly downsides...a tad expensive and lourve doors on the loo was a bit odd.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiresticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews