We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights on a business trip. We usually gravitate to the more modern hotels, but decided to give this a shot. It really was great. While being their smallest room, we did not find it overly small. The decorations throughout the hotel seemed recently updated. The bathroom was obviously brand new and had none of those sketchy corners older hotels often have. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid for the wireless internet and found that it was inconsistent (especially for the price). there is an unsecured wireless connection that you can use (for free!). We did not eat at the hotel. Overall we had a great stay.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,583
    922
    159
    41
    32
See reviews for
654
2,065
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

Lovely hotel on the Singel canal in Old Amsterdam. Property is several town houses assembled into an elegant, comfortable hotel. Staff is customer-focused and efficient. Rooms are well-appointed with very comfortable beds, but vary in size from tiny to roomy. Reading areas in the lobby, very good breakfast, and a nice small bar for end of the day. Short walk to shopping, restaurants, sights, and public transportation,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

I thought this was a very nice hotel. The staff was genuinely warm and very professional.
It felt like a hotel should -- a reading room with international newspapers, a library, a bar, computers, complimentary coffee and mint water.
I asked to see a few rooms and thought all were clean and nice. The one for 119 euros was very small but for a few euros (I think 135) more you could get a much larger room with a "spa/jacuzzi" type bath tub. Our room had a view of Spui street which was nice.
The decorations with the flower wallpaper were a little over the top, one wall would have been enough but the linens on the bed with great. I like modern, clean design so the entire hotel was a little too old fashion for my taste but I liked it anyway.

The shampoo, lotions were of good quality.

I really liked this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodWineFunSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in 2 rooms - single and double. The double is very nice, clean, cozy, but the windows were not on the channels (which is ok, since we didn't send any special request for it). Although the single room was one of the best I've ever stayed in! it was on the top of the building (in these special Dutch roofs) - very cute, nice!!! And it turned out that it has 2 beds (one is just hidden in the wall), so it might be perfectly occupied by 2 adults. So I definitely encourage you to ask for the room 510! this view from the window... you will never forget it.
The only thing that turned out to be disappointing for me that it is not possible to ask for a cold breakfast or something of that kind if you are leaving early in the morning before breakfast starts to be served.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed at the Estherea in 2009 and had a very nice stay. Unfortunately the second time was less than charming. There is a huge discrepancy in many of the rooms...some of them are not very nice. It was freezing all of the time, the cleaning people would always turn off the heat and open the windows? And extremely noisy! The cleaning staff would vacuum and talk very loudly from 7am onwards. I requested a particular room and they did not take this into account and put us in a not very nice one. When i questioned the front staff they were extremely unfriendly and did nothing to help us, not even an apology...very disappointing. On another night we tried to get a glass of wine at 12, but the bar closed at 12 and they refused to serve us...? Even though the waiter was there? Not cheap and i'm sure there are many other hotels for the same price with MUCH nicer rooms and staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Estherea and its an immaculate hotel. The canal view room was both beautiful and comfy, with a king size four poster and a lovely view of the singel canal.
The nice touches of free coffee n cakes after a days sight seeing and slippers and toiletries in your rooms add to the luxury feel.
My only gripes would be that the room walls are a tad thin and you can hear the guests and the outside noise, we would have prefered tea/ coffee facilities in the room and the hotel charged us slightly a little more than the price at the time of booking.
Try the Casa Di David authentic Italian restaurant nearby if you visit , its mind blowing x

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnerWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

The best hotel in Amsterdam,room /service/breakfast/position. I love this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vairste85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing