We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #21 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights on a business trip. We usually gravitate to the more modern hotels, but decided to give this a shot. It really was great. While being their smallest room, we did not find it overly small. The decorations throughout the hotel seemed recently updated. The bathroom was obviously brand new and had none of those sketchy corners older hotels often have. The staff was friendly and helpful. We paid for the wireless internet and found that it was inconsistent (especially for the price). there is an unsecured wireless connection that you can use (for free!). We did not eat at the hotel. Overall we had a great stay.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank CD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,886 - 2,892 of 4,075 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

Lovely hotel on the Singel canal in Old Amsterdam. Property is several town houses assembled into an elegant, comfortable hotel. Staff is customer-focused and efficient. Rooms are well-appointed with very comfortable beds, but vary in size from tiny to roomy. Reading areas in the lobby, very good breakfast, and a nice small bar for end of the day. Short walk to shopping, restaurants, sights, and public transportation,

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I thought this was a very nice hotel. The staff was genuinely warm and very professional.
It felt like a hotel should -- a reading room with international newspapers, a library, a bar, computers, complimentary coffee and mint water.
I asked to see a few rooms and thought all were clean and nice. The one for 119 euros was very small but for a few euros (I think 135) more you could get a much larger room with a "spa/jacuzzi" type bath tub. Our room had a view of Spui street which was nice.
The decorations with the flower wallpaper were a little over the top, one wall would have been enough but the linens on the bed with great. I like modern, clean design so the entire hotel was a little too old fashion for my taste but I liked it anyway.

The shampoo, lotions were of good quality.

I really liked this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodWineFunSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in 2 rooms - single and double. The double is very nice, clean, cozy, but the windows were not on the channels (which is ok, since we didn't send any special request for it). Although the single room was one of the best I've ever stayed in! it was on the top of the building (in these special Dutch roofs) - very cute, nice!!! And it turned out that it has 2 beds (one is just hidden in the wall), so it might be perfectly occupied by 2 adults. So I definitely encourage you to ask for the room 510! this view from the window... you will never forget it.
The only thing that turned out to be disappointing for me that it is not possible to ask for a cold breakfast or something of that kind if you are leaving early in the morning before breakfast starts to be served.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpiomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed at the Estherea in 2009 and had a very nice stay. Unfortunately the second time was less than charming. There is a huge discrepancy in many of the rooms...some of them are not very nice. It was freezing all of the time, the cleaning people would always turn off the heat and open the windows? And extremely noisy! The cleaning staff would vacuum and talk very loudly from 7am onwards. I requested a particular room and they did not take this into account and put us in a not very nice one. When i questioned the front staff they were extremely unfriendly and did nothing to help us, not even an apology...very disappointing. On another night we tried to get a glass of wine at 12, but the bar closed at 12 and they refused to serve us...? Even though the waiter was there? Not cheap and i'm sure there are many other hotels for the same price with MUCH nicer rooms and staff!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigold79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Estherea and its an immaculate hotel. The canal view room was both beautiful and comfy, with a king size four poster and a lovely view of the singel canal.
The nice touches of free coffee n cakes after a days sight seeing and slippers and toiletries in your rooms add to the luxury feel.
My only gripes would be that the room walls are a tad thin and you can hear the guests and the outside noise, we would have prefered tea/ coffee facilities in the room and the hotel charged us slightly a little more than the price at the time of booking.
Try the Casa Di David authentic Italian restaurant nearby if you visit , its mind blowing x

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinnerWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The best hotel in Amsterdam,room /service/breakfast/position. I love this Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vairste85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $161 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing