We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous service in a beautiful building”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“fabulous service in a beautiful building”
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel is within walking distance to just about anywhere you'd want to go in Amsterdam. The service is second to none with all staff going out of their way to make you feel welcome and to give advice on whatever is required. It was the sort of place that you never needed to ask for your room key - when you approached the desk, the key was produced as they remembered the room number without being told.
24 hour complimentary coffee, tea and snacks plus international newspapers, meant that people often sat in the reception areas giving it a cosy and friendly feel. The hotel has been well refurbished from the original canal house to retain the old beauty but with modern comforts. It was nothing like the soul-less square hotel room of the "could be anywhere" variety.
Some very minor down points - a little street noise, so ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper. There was also a tendency for maids to turn off bedroom heaters in the morning which made for a chilly return later in the day. Great furry slippers - but no robes.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back again without hesitation due to the standard of service alone

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,679
    950
    165
    45
    33
See reviews for
690
2,128
119
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location-2 minutes to Dam Square, 5 minutes to Anne Frank Museum, 10 minutes to the train station and siutated on the Singel Canal. We did not pay for a Canal view but when we arrived were told we had been moved to a Canal view room with no charge which was a lovely suprise. The room we stayed in (room 107) was quite small but it was decorated beautifully and the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that we asked for the password for the internet in our room but there is an extra charge of 10euro to use the internet for 24 hours. Also room service closes at 10pm, we rang at 9.55pm and were told we could not order anything (not a very helpful receptionist) other than that the hotel was really nice

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as it was one of only a few boutique hotels in Amsterdam and it definitely lived up to the positive reviews seen here. If you are looking for somewhere that is absolutely gorgeous that offers so many personal touches rather than a clinical, no frills corporate hotel then this is the place for you. I cannot think of one negative aspect to our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocknRollBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

The hotel is very central to all the attractions. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A wonderful touch of free coffee.tea and hot chocolate. The rooms are beauitfully decorated and the housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of keeping rooms clean .Stephen the porter was very helpful nothing too much trouble .If I had anything negative to say it would be the price of breakfast €16 a bit expensive- plenty of choices near hotel at very good price .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esdalej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Esthera has a beautiful location right on the canals and close to the 9 streets to wander around. The feel of the place was quite indulgent with ornate decor, fireplaces and library etc....spotless rooms. A good winter place - not sure how it would feel in the summer.

The only down sides we could think of was that in the freezing cold winter, there was a draft through the old windows that went directly onto the bed. Also, the floors are pretty thin depending on the level, so we were able to hear people talking and walking around on the floor above us. We were highly amused by the sheer amount of reminders about no 'smoking' in the hotel (signs in the lift, in the room, in the bathroom...)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

A most enjoyable stay! Helpful staff, well-decorated hotel, well-appointed room. We have finally found an Amsterdam hotel where we will be happy to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. It was perfect from the beginning to the end. Great service, it is located at a quiet street next to the 9 streets (an area with all small shops/boutiques), the rooms are clean and comfortable. They are not very big however, but who will need that in Amsterdam ? The value for money was excellent for a 4* hotel. If you like a nice warm and cozy hotel with great service this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing