We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, absolutely top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel, absolutely top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as it was one of only a few boutique hotels in Amsterdam and it definitely lived up to the positive reviews seen here. If you are looking for somewhere that is absolutely gorgeous that offers so many personal touches rather than a clinical, no frills corporate hotel then this is the place for you. I cannot think of one negative aspect to our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocknRollBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,316
    853
    147
    37
    29
See reviews for
581
1,858
106
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The hotel is very central to all the attractions. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A wonderful touch of free coffee.tea and hot chocolate. The rooms are beauitfully decorated and the housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of keeping rooms clean .Stephen the porter was very helpful nothing too much trouble .If I had anything negative to say it would be the price of breakfast €16 a bit expensive- plenty of choices near hotel at very good price .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esdalej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Esthera has a beautiful location right on the canals and close to the 9 streets to wander around. The feel of the place was quite indulgent with ornate decor, fireplaces and library etc....spotless rooms. A good winter place - not sure how it would feel in the summer.

The only down sides we could think of was that in the freezing cold winter, there was a draft through the old windows that went directly onto the bed. Also, the floors are pretty thin depending on the level, so we were able to hear people talking and walking around on the floor above us. We were highly amused by the sheer amount of reminders about no 'smoking' in the hotel (signs in the lift, in the room, in the bathroom...)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

A most enjoyable stay! Helpful staff, well-decorated hotel, well-appointed room. We have finally found an Amsterdam hotel where we will be happy to return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
256 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. It was perfect from the beginning to the end. Great service, it is located at a quiet street next to the 9 streets (an area with all small shops/boutiques), the rooms are clean and comfortable. They are not very big however, but who will need that in Amsterdam ? The value for money was excellent for a 4* hotel. If you like a nice warm and cozy hotel with great service this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

we move from the Hotel Toro to here at very short notice. The staff were wonderful, the location is great for everything in the city. The room was fabulous, this was my wife and my first break without the kids for 5 years and the hotel staff made it very special. Nothing was too much trouble, but everything was relaxed and unintrusive. Bike hire is a must and just around the corner. We would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evanswaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We, my husband and I stayed here twice in November, loved the hotel... the lobby has different rooms library, meeting room hang out area, bar, all cosy and the friendly staff were great. We got a canal facing room 214 more spacious than 210 for the same price. I was afraid it would be noisy but wasn't. Free tea and coffee, and cookies and candies were an extra touch of hospitality. I invited a Dutch friend over for tea and could offer her tea and cookies. My one gripe was they didn't have free internet in the rooms. The red /orange, gold velvet of the lobby with a huge crystal candelier gave it a soft sensual feeling of warmth. Near the "nine streets" an area of great restaurants/boutiques.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing