We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Estheria--my home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Estheria--my home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2006

What is not to like? My wife and I have been to Amsterdam twice--each time staryed at this wonderful small hotel. We already have reservations for june 13/14 this year. The location is superior. We are not the DAM square crowd---we like the relaxed atmosphere---there is enough fun a good restaurants for us--two fine pubs near by. We found the management and employees friendly and helpful at all times. We travel in Europe quite often and look for hotels like Estheria---small family run fine hotels---we have developed our own list and frrequent them when possible. Estheria is great.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank domer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    891
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,976
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2006

we have just returned from a 4 night stay. Our room although a bit on the small side, had a canal view which made up for the room size. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, with crisp clean white sheets. The hotel was very clean, it has been polished to perfection. The free coffee, tea etc was a real bonus.The hotel is in the best location for exploring Amsterdam. We have been to Amsterdam on numerous occasions and have stayed in many different classes and types of hotels,always trying to find one that is located centrally, that has a good ambiance, that is clean, well looked after with attentive staff. We have found it with the Estherea - we will not stay anywhere else.
ps try the all you can eat ribs at the sing singel pub, turn right when you leave the hotel and keep walking you will find the pub on the right approx 200 yds.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank carsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

we were asked to pay upfront plus a €70 deposit by a rude reception man because we did not have our cradit card. When we got back to the hotel that night the room was freezing. The night porter was on and said that there had been a few complaint and that he will get it addressed in the morning. The next day when i spoke to the same reception guy he said there was no problem and that i needed to turn them on myself. I have never heard of a hotel room that you have to turn on the radiator yourself. So 1 turned the radiator knob to a different position and when we came back that night the room was still freezing. We were leaving the next day and all we struggled to get an apology out of them. So basically was not impressed with the staff. Location was great and the place was nice and clean. Would not pay good money to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EdCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from a 4-day break at the Hotel Estherea. The staff are friendly, courteous and could not have been more helpful. We found it to be a very relaxing environment. The rooms are more than adequate, very clean and comfortable. The tea/coffee/hot chocolate which is available free of charge all day to guests is most welcoming when coming back in from the cold! We would definitely return to the Estherea and would recommend it to friends and family.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

We couldn't have hoped for a better hotel from which to explore Amsterdam. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful. Our room was comfortable and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

A great location within walking distance of interesting sites. Not too far from an American Express office which came in handy. Did not try the full breakfast in the morning -- the muffins and fruit on the continental table were enough. Great advice on restaurants, appreciated the loan of an umbrella, and help with directions.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2006

This hotel is a wonderful choice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave excellent restaurant and excursion recommendations. We loved the 24hr coffee, tea, and fruits. The library and lounge was a great place to relax. We had one of the smaller rooms facing the canal, but there are bigger ones. It was perfect for a couple. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The hotel is situated within walking distance of everything, such a great location.It was far enough away from the things, that it was quiet and peaceful to sleep. My boyfriend and I would definitely recommend staying here and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sheky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing