We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2006

Husband and I stayed at Hotel Estherea from 11th to 13th Jan on our first trip to Amsterdam. Although we had a really hectic schedule and so did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, it really made our stay special.

Its location is excellent - very handy for Dam Square, trams to wherever you want to go, and the street behind the hotel is packed with fantastic restaurants (recommend 'Five').

There's such a lovely ambience from the moment you enter. Our room (212) had a canal view and was pleasantly and comfortably furnished.

We did pay extra for a 'deluxe' room since they told us that was the only way we'd get a canal view, but another couple we met paid the standard rate (98 Euro) and also got a canal view.

We also paid for wireless internet access for the first day, but then discovered so many unsecured networks in the vicinity that we didn't pay for access the second day, since we weren't too worried about internet security.

The most expensive (reputedly) brothel in Amsterdam is a few doors down, but it's very discreet and the area in general is very upmarket.

Highly recommend it (the hotel, that is)!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank mollysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    890
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,974
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2006

We stayed in the Esttherea for 2 nights in Dec '05.
Really lovely hotel,in a fantastic location.
Very clean.
Friendly,helpful staff.
Also...Beds and pillows much more comfortable than your usual hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2006

What a charming and warm hotel. This is so perfectly situated, in a delightful setting overlooking the Singel Canal. Three frontage canal houses make up this hotel. On entering, the reception is warm and inviting. The staff were helpful, the porter made us welcome showing the lovely lounges and breakfast room. A nice touch is the self service tea coffee and chocolate, plus the cookies in the draws beneath. It was great after a day of sight seeing to collaspe in a comfy chair and help yourself to a cuppa.
As for our room, overlooking the canal, it was simply charming, room 110 will make you feel like you are on your honeymoon again! While the busy city called to be explored the lure of the cosy room also called on my tired feet. Just delightful.
All in all a perfect location and a wonderful hotel. Everywhere was spotless. I feel that the owners are so proud of there hotel and so they should be. Always request a canal view though as it buts you on the best side.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mighigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

We were traveling with a group of 5 couples and just completed a 14 day river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. Found the Estherea on the internet and it had received some nice reviews from fellow travelers. Price was right too. We were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious with a large bathroom. Our room was on the warm side but the hotel staff supplied us a fan which really helped. The lobby was had a wonderful decor and the staff was extreme helpful. Estherea is right on the Single canal and all the main attractions were within easy walking distance - Ann Frank House, Dam Square, Red Light District, Flower Market, etc. The hotel only serves breakfast which I thought was pricey. My wife ate there both mornings and said it was very good. There are a couple of pastry shops in the next block which were excellent. We highly recommend the Estherea.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DonPoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2005

I just returned from my first visit to Amsterdam.
I found the Estherea on this web site and I was not disapointed.
It is a charming hotel in a beautiful location.
the lobby is very pretty and very European.
Our room was a decent size. I have defiantely stayed in smaller rooms in Europe. It was very pleasant and well kept.
The veiw from the canal side rooms is really beautiful. .
The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
This hotel is a great value. It is very reasonably priced and delivers in this price category.
Good choice!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sasharoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. It was my first time to Amsterdam and I was told the city is not known for there hotels. I was so impressed with our hotel, it was classy and vintage everything I was looking for. The room was so spacious and clean and it had a beautiful big canopy bed and a view that was to die for. Ask for a room looking onto the canal. My boyfriend had been to Amsterdam before and was never happy with the size of room as he is 6'3. He loved the hotel too! It is also very central and easy to get around the city. I loved it and would definately go back.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank spanishangel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2005

We stayed at the hotel for one night in November and as soon as you walked into the reception it was warm and welcoming. Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available in the reception area and you can sit in the lounge and watch colourful tropical fish swimming around living coral in a fish tank.
It was my daughters birthday and they gave her a fantasic room overlooking the canal, we had a room at the back of the hotel and although there was no view it was comforatble, nicely decorated with an excellent bathroom.
The breakfast included fresh fruit salad, sausages scrambled eggs etc as well as cheese and cold meats which was more than enough to set us up for a day of sightseeing.
And the great thing about the hotel is the location, you are right on the canal area with interesting streets nearby and restaurants etc within easy walking distance.
To get there from the airport you can catch the train to centraal station (3.5 euros) and then catch a tram number 1,2 or 5 and get off at the third stop. It is a few minutes walk to the hotel.

I will definitely be staying here the next time I come to Amsterdam

PS they have a temporary outdoor ice skating rink in Dam square for the christmas period definitely worth a go - if you dont mind making a fool of yourself !

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing