We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights (July 24-27) and really enjoyed this little hotel. The front entrance, lobby, bar area, sitting areas and restaurant are very cozy and welcoming, but not small or cramped. Nice decor throughout the entire hotel. The rooms are lovely and if you are lucky enough to get a canal view, it can add that final perfect touch to the atmosphere of the experience. I found my room to be extremely cozy and comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and roomy, including a full size bath tub. The appointments in the room were perfect. The location is in an ideal location within the city center. Very close to everything (3 minutes walk to Dam Square) and tucked away on one of the more quiet canals. Who could want more? Lastly, I found the staff to be very attentive, helpful and polite. I would stay here again and certainly will the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTrotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
houston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Loved the Hotel Estherea. Beautiful (though not large) rooms; great bathrooms with nice toiletries. Inside rooms have no views but the rooms themselves are beautifully appointed. But, who needs to pay for a canal view room when you only need the rooms for sleeping and you can get the canal view in the comfortable lobby. The free cookies and cany available all day were not great but the coffee and tea were wonderful. Also, great service and best of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location; walking distance to everything including the Central train station. The free computer in the lobby was also nice but there was only one so one had to wait one's turn all the time. We'd stay at this hotel if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We travel a great deal and this is a very special property . Most TA reviews are glowing and for good reason . This is a hotel in a fantastic location with some rooms which have magical views and with modern conveniences such as nicely sized bathrooms and a range of amenities . The staff are very knowledgable and are happy to make reservations for restaurants , bike rentals , etc . Coffee and tea and cookies are complimentary in the very nicely maintained common areas .

We were able to check in at 1 PM after a pretty early arrival . The hotel runs at near capacity in the summer so there is big comings and goings of people in the lobby managed by multiple staff . There are abundant staff and I wondered why wiht the number of people asking questions etc , why they dont designate one of these to serve as a concierge .

Our room was moderate in size with an odd sized double bed ( a bit short and we are not very tall ) and a nice litle couch and two chairs. The lighting in the room is abysmal .

The hotel is superior and tries to find a sweet spot between value and service provided. It does so to some extent . Canal view rooms are more expensive particularly on weekends and breakfast is 16 euros per person . So a 210 Euro room on a weekend ( we were not there through the weekend ) with breakfast is up to almost 250 Euros not counitng tax. If you bring a laptop and want wi-fi, it is an extra10 euros per laptop and so that can add 20 euros per day to a bill .......the place can get pricey.

That being said , on balance , location , staff, facilities, service make this a wise choice

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYNAPSEBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We booked a reservation back in May and then a week before we were to travel double checked our reservations, we saw that the rack rate was over 20 euros less than what we had paid for it.. though the hotel would not accept that rate, even though it was still one week before our travel time! We also paid for a deluxe room (additional 40 euros) but hardly had place to move.. if you sit on the chair you cant pass to go to the window... the staff went out of their way to be cold, distant and rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyorkseasontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is a lovely hotel on Singel, you couldn't wish for a better location in Amsterdam. We had room 302 on the other side, above Spui which is fairly noisy at night. I would recommend a room on the side of the Singel as you will get a canal view and it's much calmer.

The room was a normal size with a small balcony and a big bath tub + a shower. Bed was big and comfy. Decoration throughout the hotel is very classic but nice.

We also really liked the buffet breakfast. The only complaint would be the staff, many of them were unhelpful and unefficient, people had to wait in lines at the lobby because it took them a very long time indeed to check people in etc. Hopefully there'll be some changes coming!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

location, lobby, library and free teas/coffees all day were great. however the room we stayed in was very disapointing. clean but very grubby and worn. hadnt been refurbed since the 80's. the staff were also very mixed. one or two nice people but the rest were cold and unhelpful. apparently they've just added an extention 2months ago to hotel so try to ask for rooms in that part.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreak1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Once we arrived at Estherea, we knew we were in the right place. The lobby is grand and beautiful with lovely rooms to rest, read, or have a cup of complimentary tea. Our room on the fifth floor overlooking the canal was a very nice size as was the bathroom. The canal side is quiet, although you can hear church bells at night if you are awake. The room was furnished beautifully and was extremely clean. We found the staff to be quite helpful. We weren't able to get into the Van Gogh museum in the morning so they made reservations on line for us for the next afternoon. I also recommend this for the Rijksmuseum. I would have liked a hotel where the breakfast was more reasonably priced, but there were several bakeries in the area and places for a complete breakfast if desired.
Overall, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing