We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Just another love-note to the dear Estherea - I really can't imagine a nicer place to stay in Amsterdam.

Now, if you're a fan of American chain hotels, or you're looking for a pool, or if you have a low tolerance for charm - you won't like this hotel. The rooms range from very small to cosy; the hallways are narrow; there isn't 24-hour room service. That, however, is just about all the non-praise I can think of to say about this wonderful small hotel.

We arrived for a second stay at the Estherea at a ridiculously early hour after a very long overnight flight, and while our room wasn't ready, my partner and I agreed that there were few hotels in the world where we would actually look forward to spending a few hours waiting. We sat in the lovely, serene library, enjoying the complimentary coffee and biscuits, reading through the range of European papers and local guides on offer, and admiring the fresh orchids scattered around the polished side tables.

Once in our very comfortable canal-view room (very much worth the extra cost, both for the exquisite view and for the size of the room), we felt immediately at home. Spotlessly clean, with bright wallpaper, two comfortable chairs, and a small but well-appointed bathroom, our room proved a great homebase to explore the city on foot, easy given the Estherea's perfect central location.

In the year since our last visit, 20 more rooms have been added, creating a central courtyard with a nice glass elevator but not altering the essential character of the Estherea at all.

Finally, nothing but praise for the staff, from the friendly reception staff to the genial night manager who happily openeed up for us after our late returns.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElMusaferain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    953
    165
    45
    33
See reviews for
696
2,146
121
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Hotel Estherea in late June. The journey from the airport by train was very simple and we were able to walk (about 15-20 mins) from the station to the hotel. This was our first attempt at navigating by the canals and this definitely makes Amsterdam one of the easier cities to walk around.

The hotel was in an excellent location for what we wanted to do. Nice to be on a canal, so a bit quieter, and equidistant between the Centraal Station and the museum quarter, whilst being close to the Dam Square and Anne Frank House museum.

The hotel interior is boldly decorated (in nice old-style prints) and this character continued into the room. The room wasn’t huge – but fine by European city standards – as others have said, you don’t want to spend much time in your room when you’re there, so it’s perfectly adequate. We’ve stayed in smaller rooms in London. It was comfortable and had some nice touches as well as being recently decorated. What was nice was the disproportionately large bathroom, with both a walk-in shower and a separate Jacuzzi bath. We weren’t on the canal side, but still had a view over the street behind, which was nice.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The free coffee and tea, biscuits, sweets and iced-minted-lemoned-water more than compensated for not having these facilities in the room – which still had water in the mini-bar fridge.

We opted for breakfast out – you could get a full continental breakfast of coffee, croissant, butter& jam and a roll with cheese and ham for Eur6,90 – rather than the Eur16 charged by the hotel.

There are lots of nice bars and restaurants dotted over the city – but there is a nice one just down the road (Restaurant & Brasserie Luden) and also try looking in the Jordaan area for a less “touristy” place to eat.

The Rijksmuseum is undergoing major renovation at the moment, but for a first-time visitor this works well, as the “highlights” of the museum are all in the Phillips Wing, which means you can see them all in just 14 rooms – including The Nightwatch. We were caught out by there not being a cafe inside the museum though, so stop off at a cafe before you go in as we managed to still spend a good two hours in there.

The Tui candlelight canal trip goes right past the hotel, which was nice to see from the water – this is the hotel’s advertised tour boat company that you get brochures on when you arrive, so maybe they all go past. That said, we certainly weren’t bothered by running commentaries either in the hotel or when walking along or enjoying a coffee by the canals.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDnBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We were originally booked at another hotel for our seven night stay in mid-May. But due to construction in the adjoining building, the hotel requested that we cancel as they were sure our stay with them would be less than perfect. They suggested the Estherea. An upgrade in price for us for sure, but we are so glad we splurged. We loved our stay. The only rooms the Estherea originally had available were non canal-view, but when we checked in, a canal-view room was available. We looked at our choice of rooms and the canal-view was a no brainer, though it was yet another upgrade. No doubt the most expensive hotel stay we've ever had (nearly $2500 for the seven nights) but we have such great memories and feelings about the Estherea. Room 110 if I recall. We found it very spacious. King size bed. Nice bathroom, small fridge, desk and sitting area, but the absolute winner was the three large windows that overlooked the Singel. Gorgeous. We had breakfast at the hotel just once as the 16E p/p price was a bit much. Several very good breakfast eateries and bakeries are nearby. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate and treats are available in the lobby 24/7. Lobby is beautiful with dark wood furniture, large, comfortable rose-colored chairs and sofas, and a stunning chandelier. There is also a bar with small sitting area. The lobby also has a huge fresh-water fish tank with an aquarium assortment of amazingly colored fish. Mesmerizing. Staff, especially Daan (double a) at the front desk, could not have been more helpful and friendly. We'll probably rent an apartment on our next Amsterdam trip. But if we don't, we will definitely stay at the Estherea again. No doubt!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aklein1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great find around the corner from Dam Square but it seems like another world away. Sits on a quiet part of the canal which is mostly residential but is only 1 minutes walk from the centre. The rooms are quite well furnished with period reproduction furniture.This lends the hotel an old world feel. Staff are magnificent although our triple room was quite small, couldn't swing a clog in it. The 3 single beds were tiny. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

This is a great hotel...more boutique style. For those of you used to staying at bigger hotels....keep this in mind: this is an old building, this is Amsterdam....things are not necessarily going to be in pristine condition and yes the rooms are bit small (think B & B) With that said... our room was very nice with a fabulous bed and sitting area, we reserved a canal view room (stunning views room 310) and it was a very nice size, I recommend upgrading to a canal view if size is an issue for you. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was great. They offer free coffee, tea, hot chocolate with cookies and small pastries throughout the day in the lobby...ate too many! The location could not have been better...close to Anne Frank House, red light dist, floating flower shops..etc.
Bike rental around the corner...etc.... really fantastic. If you are a beer lover there is a fantastic shop just around the corner in a small alleyway specializes in rare beers. Computer in the lobby if you need to get your boarding passes (yes it costs $5/30min). I was able to connect to wi-fi to use e-mail on my iphone from our room. I am a Marriott rewards holder, but won't think about staying anywhere else but here if I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holls33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel has a lot going for it. It is in a really great location almost right in the center of Amsterdam, a stones throw away from the major city sights and destinations. It is also situated on a beautiful canal, in an enchanting old building. The public rooms (lounge, bar, restaurant, reception and so on) have a club-like atmosphere, and are peaceful and cosy. The staff are very efficient and eager to please. However, what lets this hotel down is the size of the rooms. I was given 510, which was one of the smallest sized rooms I have every stayed in. It was more like a large closet than a room. Okay, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was nicely refurbished, and I had a great view over the canal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraddyBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Estherea at the end of our river cruise from Budapest. I choose the hotel using Trip Advisor and the reviews of previous visitors. We booked a canal view room to make my wife happy. I am glad we did because the view was excellent. The room was spacious and full of light from the three large windows. The bath was very clean and also spacious.

The staff was very helpful with recommendations for dinning. We had two evening meals at the hotel's recommended restaurants. Café Di David was Italian and D’ Theeboom was French both were on the same street as the hotel. Both served an excellent meal for fair prices. Our third evening meal was at Indonesian Restaurant - Selecta which was also very good.

My wife booked us a walking tour with Adam’s Apple Tours, www.adamsapple.nl. Frank books only small groups and only charges 25 euros. Frank has an excellent knowledge of Amsterdam both past and present. You must telephone Frank to arrange a tour at [--]. BTW, Frank is listed in Rick Steves’ Amsterdam guide book.

We also recommend the Amsterdam History Museum as a first stop on your visit. Book on-line for your tickets to the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank House. Booking on-line will save you time waiting in long lines. The audio tour guide is a must for the Van Gogh Museum. And don’t forget a canal boat tour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fig_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,578 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,041 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,144 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing