We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Hotel Estherea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Hotel Estherea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Hotel Estherea and had a great experience. The location was ideal--a couple of blocks south of Dam Square and within a couple of blocks of the Anne Frank Huis. Even loaded down with luggage, it took us only about 20 minutes to walk from Centraal Station to our hotel. The hotel is located in a safe, quiet area of the city. Our rate was 185 Euros a day, plus about 8 Euros a day for the city tax. All front desk staff that we encountered spoke English quite well.

There is a huge grocery store about 1.5 blocks away. Stepping out of the hotel, take a right. Then take the right on the first street you come to; the grocery store will be on your left at the end of that block. I would highly recommend a small restaurant called Caprese just one block north of the hotel. Look for the white & yellow awning. Great Italian food!

The reception level of the Hotel Estherea is quite lovely and very welcoming. The library, sitting area, and meeting room were all well appointed and very comfortable. Various fruits, cookies, chocolates, candy, coffee, hot chocolate and tea were available 24/7 in the lobby. This hotel is 100% non smoking, with a huge penalty if you smoke in the room.

Our room was #112, and it was wonderful. As the photos show, the room was rather ornate but quite charming. Three large windows opened up to views of the Singel Canal, and the heavy draperies went from floor to ceiling. Our room had two twin beds, that were set up as one bed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Also in the room were a large dresser/desk, two casual chairs, a small coffee table, two bedside tables and a small television. There was a large closet, extra shelves, and a mini refrigerator (stocked with two free waters every day). A small programmable safe is available in the room at no extra charge; two pairs of slippers are also provided at no charge. We noticed very little noise while inside our hotel room. The room seemed a bit cool at times, and we couldn't seem to get the thermostat to operate. I suspect the heat was turned off--or perhaps we had to request it to be turned on. It wasn't a problem though, as the outdoor temps were warm enough not to need heat in the rooms. The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and towels, and there was a wall-mounted hair dryer.

Being it was early March, leaves on the trees hadn't really started popping out. However, spring flowers and houseplants were common sights along the streets, many shrubs already had their leaves, and the grass was vibrant green. Temps were in the upper 40s and lower 50s during the day, so it was very comfortable.

Our only real issue at this hotel was that even though we had a confirmed reservation (with a reservation number), it didn't seem as if they had our name on the reservation list for that day. Eventually after checking our reservation paper, they assigned us our room--but I was a little concerned they didn't have the reservation. We tried to confirm our reservation by email about a month prior to our trip. Strangely, they never got back to us, but we assumed we were OK being we never received any word of a problem. Since we were visiting in March, I doubt the hotel was full--so a missing reservation could be easily resolved. But you may want to follow up your reservation with a phone call, just to make certain--especially if visiting during high season.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,342
    863
    147
    38
    29
See reviews for
589
1,881
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We spent three nights at the Estherea at the end of March as a brief getaway for just my husband and me. We booked a canal view room, and had a charming room on the 4th floor. The bed was super comfy and had a special topper to turn it from two twins into a queen. There was shelving and hanging space in the closet, as well as many drawers in the desk. The bathroom was small and lacked storage, but the water pressure was super, the towel plush, so it was perfectly fine.
The Estherea staff is lovely, the public spaces full of old world charm, and the location is fabulous -- central, but very quiet at night.
We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We spent three nights at the Estherea at the end of March as a brief getaway for just my husband and me. We booked a canal view room, and had a charming room on the 4th floor. The bed was super comfy and had a special topper to turn it from two twins into a queen. There was shelving and hanging space in the closet, as well as many drawers in the desk. The bathroom was small and lacked storage, but the water pressure was super, the towel plush, so it was perfectly fine.
The Estherea staff is lovely, the public spaces full of old world charm, and the location is fabulous -- central, but very quiet at night.
We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton On Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

The website of this hotel shows newly decorated well appointed rooms, which you may not get to stay in; we didn't. We did however have a room on a floor 4 stairs up at the front of the building with a view over the canal. The decor in the room was dated and the beds felt like you were sleeping on a sandwich; the top layer sort of swiveled on the bottoms layer. The size of the room was standard for a room in a European capital. The bathroom was fine.
The elevator is small, but we were fine taking the stairs just to burn some calories.

At 16 Euro the breakfast is outstanding and nicely presented (here is were you collect calories); choices are almost too numerous to mention; custom tosti's available upon request; and fried or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and ham; variety of sliced cheese and cold cuts, choice of juices; plenty of fresh fruits; choice of cereals, crackers and dark rye snack breads; many choices of other breads; yogurts, jams and cheese spreads; muesli, dried fruits, pastries and the list goes on. Check out the buffet before you make your choices. Many specialty tea choices and coffee at breakfast and same available complimentary all day in the lobby . Truly a good value, (not by American standards, but you are not in America) the average breakfast at an Amsterdam hotel will set you back 20 to 22 Euros. Take it from a Canadian born in the Netherlands!

The other common spaces/rooms in this hotel are as represented on the website; very warm and inviting and true to Amsterdam style decor. No complaints here. Location is fine too; a nice neighbourhood and walking distance to Centraal Station and many attractions.

Upon check out I inquired about the nicely decorated rooms presented on their website - I speak Dutch - but it was ignored. So, in the future, if we stay at this hotel again, I will make sure I know which room I am staying in and if not, we will go elsewhere in the city.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes, but with caution.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannagotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel. The day we arrived was the day they opened up the newly renovated rooms, and we were the first guests staying in ours. Unfortunately, construction of the rooms wasn't complete yet, so they probably shouldn't have put anyone in there. The hotel location was great, the staff friendly, and the "deluxe" room we stayed in appears that it will be very nice once they finish the construction.

The bathroom door lacked screws to hold the handle in place (it fell off several times), the light fixtures hadn't been installed on the walls leaving bare wires exposed, there was a hole in the ceiling of the bathroom where a plumbing access panel will go, the refrigerator hadn't been installed yet (much to the confusion of the porter trying to show us the room), and both the room and the hall was rather dusty. Construction started promptly at 8am during the week, so if you sleep in late, be prepared for hammers and power tools.

The staff was friendly, and spoke excellent English. We assumed our room was the only one in this state, and that the hotel was not aware of it, so we jotted down a list of the problems so they would be aware. We were told that they knew of the problems already, and that we had been upgraded into this "deluxe" room for free. They told us we could downgrade to the "standard" room that we would normally have gotten if we wanted, but we figured none of the problems were unlivable, and we'd already started unpacking.

The front desk staff called the owners to tell them about the problems, and the owners insisted we move out of the room, as they wanted our stay to be as pleasant as possible. At this point we'd completely unpacked, and the damage to our impression of the hotel had already been done, so we refused to move. Overall, the room, staff, and hotel were all quite nice, it just would have been more pleasant had we not been subjected to the unfinished room in the first place.

Breakfast was 16 euros, we didn't eat there, as there was plenty of cafes and bakeries nearby. Coffee and tea is available 24 hours. Internet access is available, but the cost is around 10 euros for 24 hours access. There's no parking in the city, but the hotel does have a deal with a parking service that will pick up your car and drop it back off for 20 euros per day. If you're driving in, consider parking yourself at the airport and taking the train in. The hotel itself is just south of Dam plaza, and probably about 10 minutes from the train station.

The older "standard" rooms were in a different section of the hotel, and so we assume didn't suffer the problems we had while there. Once the construction is finished, it seems that the hotel will be very nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again, once they finish their renovations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c0den1nja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Even staying in Amsterdam in cold, damp February, the hotel created a warmth that made returning to it every evening an absolute pleasure. The location is deceiving if you only look it up on a map as it is on a section of the Singel Canal that is surprisingly quiet. We stayed in a very reasonably priced canal view room, but be prepared if you want this luxury at reduced cost as you are likely to get a small room. We were offered a larger room with a courtyard view, but chose the view over the size. There is building work going on in the hotel at present, with some extension work to the street behind. It is difficult to tell if these rooms will be as good, but the overall service, comfort and location of the hotel should please even the most critical of travellers.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seas0ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Having had a fantastic stay at the Estherea in Jan 08 we decided to return to the hotel for our honeymoon from the 20th Feb 09. I had e-mailed the hotel to let them know why we were visiting but despite this we were given room 412 - which has two single beds with horrible rubber mattress covers- hardly the most romantic option for our honeymoon! When I made enquiries with reception about our room I was told that the hotel was fully booked. It appeared that the hotel had given no thought to how special this trip was for us, which was very dissapointing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing