We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice familly in the centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice familly in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel located along the canals (Single area). Close to shops and living area.
The employee are very nice and helpful.
Area maps have been replaced by iPads with a local App.

I'm going back in the same hotel in October.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    891
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,976
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed there in May for 3 nights.
The location is perfect for visiting the city center. Also a convenient closeby tram to go to the museum area, Pretty close to the Station to catch the Thalys. Many restaurants and eateries in the area.
The hotel has been nicely renovated, the lounge and lounge bar area are pretty pleasant, the staff is very helpful, and you are provided with a complementary iPad.
Breakfast is not great but ok, the breakfast area is congested and not pleasant, very busy.
The rooms and the bathroom are very small, and the window looks into a 3x3m2 pipe. Need to keep the curtains closed also during the day unless you want to chat with yr neighbours.
Alltogether not good enough when one pays 263 euros for room and breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms with view on the canal will be better, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hotel Estherea was a great choice for our stay in Amsterdam.
We stayed in the Orange Suite and found it plenty big for our family of 3.
The room and bathroom was clean and well appointed.
Having coffee and tea with treats available 24 hours was an added and much appreciated bonus. Amsterdam is an easy walking city and this hotel is well positioned to start your journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlisaGC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Beautiful inside and out. The lobby is wonderful. The room was pretty, clean and comfortable. Quick walk to all of the fun stuff. Ate at the bar two nights - good choice of light fair. Everything we expected and better. Only problem was the cab driver didn't know where it was and we drove around 25 minutes. Would definitely recommend. There are closer places than four blocks from the center, but we loved it. And right on the canal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Why did I leave, because the bill for two nights was already stomach-churning. But I think, I think, the hotel was worth it: wonderfully stylish rooms; great location; a room with a view of the canal; delicious breakfasts; attentive, yet unobstrusive service. Trust me, if you're willing to splurge, this place is probably worth it. Thoroughly first-rate hotel in an exciting city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staehlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We highly recommend Hotel Estherea for its wonderful location in the heart of Amsterdam, an easy walk to most favorite sights. We had a beautiful and very comfortable room, and excellent service. Could not find a better home-away-from-home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LJL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Finding the Estherea from Grand Centraal Station is very simple - a stroll to Dam Square and then 10 minutes along Singel. We checked in early on Saturday morning - changing in the small conveniences used for the basement gym. To get orientated we wanted to try a canal tour and were lucky to find the hotel arranges an 11:00hrs canal tour - so we off to a perfect start. When we got back our room was ready (117) - well appointed, good size, nice bathroom, well decorated with a four poster bed - very nice.

The hotel is very clean. Well decorated. With very friendly helpful staff. Family run - and it shows.

The bar is lovely. We would recommend the cocktails!

The restaurant only opens for breakfast (which isn't great) but it doesn't matter as there are plenty of places near by to eat at.

Location is simply tremendous.

And the mark of service is what happens when problems occur ( as they do from time to time)

On our first night we were disturbed by the people above us. The building is 17th century with wooden floors and little if any sound insulation so it sounded as if our neighbours were rearranging the furniture! After a while we asked Reception to intervene which they did and all went quiet - sort of. What then transpired was a kin to water torture with a constant noise coming from the ventilation system - not an issue in the day time but accentuated by the silence of the night. We mentioned this to Reception the next morning. Sadly when we returned from our day out nothing had been done and there no other rooms available. So we were offered earplugs......and the promise of a "better room" the next day.

The next day came and we waited for the new room to be prepared to find it was not a "better room" at all. It was the smaller part of what was clearly two adjoining rooms. It seemed at this point when we said we were less than happy we were being categorised as awkward customers - actually all we wanted was a quite room for sleep of the right quality. Which to be fair to the staff we got when they upgraded the room to the Pink Suite (Room 11).

The Pink Suite is fantastic - a lounge overlooking the small courtyard, a panelled bedroom, jacuzzi, double shower and so on. What a way to make amends - brilliant!

Overall if we returned to Amsterdam we'd stay at the Estherea - it's excellent in its location, quality and service.

Room Tip: 11 The Pink Suite is superb. 117 - Nice room if the ventilation noise has been sorted but note the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing