We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Location - Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location - Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Finding the Estherea from Grand Centraal Station is very simple - a stroll to Dam Square and then 10 minutes along Singel. We checked in early on Saturday morning - changing in the small conveniences used for the basement gym. To get orientated we wanted to try a canal tour and were lucky to find the hotel arranges an 11:00hrs canal tour - so we off to a perfect start. When we got back our room was ready (117) - well appointed, good size, nice bathroom, well decorated with a four poster bed - very nice.

The hotel is very clean. Well decorated. With very friendly helpful staff. Family run - and it shows.

The bar is lovely. We would recommend the cocktails!

The restaurant only opens for breakfast (which isn't great) but it doesn't matter as there are plenty of places near by to eat at.

Location is simply tremendous.

And the mark of service is what happens when problems occur ( as they do from time to time)

On our first night we were disturbed by the people above us. The building is 17th century with wooden floors and little if any sound insulation so it sounded as if our neighbours were rearranging the furniture! After a while we asked Reception to intervene which they did and all went quiet - sort of. What then transpired was a kin to water torture with a constant noise coming from the ventilation system - not an issue in the day time but accentuated by the silence of the night. We mentioned this to Reception the next morning. Sadly when we returned from our day out nothing had been done and there no other rooms available. So we were offered earplugs......and the promise of a "better room" the next day.

The next day came and we waited for the new room to be prepared to find it was not a "better room" at all. It was the smaller part of what was clearly two adjoining rooms. It seemed at this point when we said we were less than happy we were being categorised as awkward customers - actually all we wanted was a quite room for sleep of the right quality. Which to be fair to the staff we got when they upgraded the room to the Pink Suite (Room 11).

The Pink Suite is fantastic - a lounge overlooking the small courtyard, a panelled bedroom, jacuzzi, double shower and so on. What a way to make amends - brilliant!

Overall if we returned to Amsterdam we'd stay at the Estherea - it's excellent in its location, quality and service.

Room Tip: 11 The Pink Suite is superb. 117 - Nice room if the ventilation noise has been sorted but note the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,613
    936
    160
    41
    33
See reviews for
673
2,082
118
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. This small hotel was beyond excellent. Decor was beautiful. Rooms gorgeous, spotlessly clean, with the most comfortable bed ever. The location of the Estherea is just right. Far enough away from the red light district to be a little bit special & close enough to stroll into the action. A real find & will be visiting again without a doubt. In walking distance of the Grand Central station, which is easily reached from Schiphol airport. Well worth staying here. By the way the free Coffee, Tea & hot chocolate all day in reception is a brilliant idea.

Room Tip: All rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda_buss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed for one night at Estherea hotel and we simply like the hotel. It's was a small but cozy. Our room was overlooking the small canal and we enjoyed the view. The hotel is around 15-20 mins walk from Dom Square and bit tiring for old couple especially if you do 2-3 trips to hotel in a day.

The rooms were clean and decor was nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quite place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterose232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked are room through Booking.Com. We paid $350/night which I believe is not that cheap. Our room was extremely small. We had no room to put even one small suitcase (a roller carry on style) anywhere but on the floor as they had no folding suitcase rack/holder. Our room service tray had to go on the floor too. The room was charming but it was really like being in an attic. My sister and I are petite/thin so we just made the best of it. I could not imagine a larger couple with a large suitcase in this room. I do want to say that the hotel was charming, very clean, perfectly located. Just make sure that you call the hotel and make reservations as I think they just give the bad rooms to one who reserves through the internet. We did have a bad experience with the bartender. His name was Dwight. My sister and I ordered a bottle of champagne. I asked if it was cold. He looked at me like I was asking for the world. I asked for an ice bucket as the champagne was not really cold and that we wanted to take it outside on their (so called, outdoor seating). He did not even help me bring it to our seats. Also, I then went to ask for napkins and I saw that they had complimentary olives and chips, in which he never offered to us. This bar tender, Dwight, should find another job. However, the evening after, another bartender, Leo, was wonderful and gracious. Also, a hotel of this level (4 stars) should have proper bathroom amenities that are not stuck on the wall. They should also equip the rooms with dirty laundry plastic bags, baggage rack, morning paper. Also, I think they could do better with their outdoor seating area in front. I do recommend this hotel however but just be really careful on what room you are assigned.

Room Tip: CALL AHEAD. Do you reserve through internet to get a decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

8 of us spent the weekend in Amsterdam staying in Hotel Estherea. The rooms were lovely - very comfortable and peaceful, great location on the lovely Singel canal and most importantly the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Estherea in July 2014. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the train station and close to all the sights of Amsterdam.

The hotel is a lot better than most hotels in Amsterdam, very well decorated, well appointed rooms, everywhere spotlessly clean.

All the hotel staff from the receptionists to the night ports were very polite and helpful.

Bar prices were comparable to everywhere else in the city, not a rip off, complimentary coffee and cakes were available in the reception area.

Recommended for a better standard hotel when you're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great location, reception staff were very very helpful, very clean hotel. We were upgraded to the 'Orange' suite - absolutely beautiful - one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Thank you Esterea. We loved our time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing