We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cozy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed for one night at Estherea hotel and we simply like the hotel. It's was a small but cozy. Our room was overlooking the small canal and we enjoyed the view. The hotel is around 15-20 mins walk from Dom Square and bit tiring for old couple especially if you do 2-3 trips to hotel in a day.

The rooms were clean and decor was nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quite place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiterose232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    891
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,976
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked are room through Booking.Com. We paid $350/night which I believe is not that cheap. Our room was extremely small. We had no room to put even one small suitcase (a roller carry on style) anywhere but on the floor as they had no folding suitcase rack/holder. Our room service tray had to go on the floor too. The room was charming but it was really like being in an attic. My sister and I are petite/thin so we just made the best of it. I could not imagine a larger couple with a large suitcase in this room. I do want to say that the hotel was charming, very clean, perfectly located. Just make sure that you call the hotel and make reservations as I think they just give the bad rooms to one who reserves through the internet. We did have a bad experience with the bartender. His name was Dwight. My sister and I ordered a bottle of champagne. I asked if it was cold. He looked at me like I was asking for the world. I asked for an ice bucket as the champagne was not really cold and that we wanted to take it outside on their (so called, outdoor seating). He did not even help me bring it to our seats. Also, I then went to ask for napkins and I saw that they had complimentary olives and chips, in which he never offered to us. This bar tender, Dwight, should find another job. However, the evening after, another bartender, Leo, was wonderful and gracious. Also, a hotel of this level (4 stars) should have proper bathroom amenities that are not stuck on the wall. They should also equip the rooms with dirty laundry plastic bags, baggage rack, morning paper. Also, I think they could do better with their outdoor seating area in front. I do recommend this hotel however but just be really careful on what room you are assigned.

Room Tip: CALL AHEAD. Do you reserve through internet to get a decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

8 of us spent the weekend in Amsterdam staying in Hotel Estherea. The rooms were lovely - very comfortable and peaceful, great location on the lovely Singel canal and most importantly the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Estherea in July 2014. The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the train station and close to all the sights of Amsterdam.

The hotel is a lot better than most hotels in Amsterdam, very well decorated, well appointed rooms, everywhere spotlessly clean.

All the hotel staff from the receptionists to the night ports were very polite and helpful.

Bar prices were comparable to everywhere else in the city, not a rip off, complimentary coffee and cakes were available in the reception area.

Recommended for a better standard hotel when you're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great location, reception staff were very very helpful, very clean hotel. We were upgraded to the 'Orange' suite - absolutely beautiful - one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Thank you Esterea. We loved our time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was just sublime. Awesome rooms with everything you need. Great free coffee. Location is very central and the staff helpful. Nothing is more then 10 minutes away. Nice gym. Bit on the expensive side but worth every cent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chabba55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July with my daughter - overall, I was very pleased with the hotel. Our room overlooked the canal - lovely view. The hotel is well located. We did not eat breakfast there, but did enjoy their self service coffee bar, as well as cocktails in their bar. We checked in the night of the soccer game, so check in wasn't great (young men were staffing the front desk that night). The service for the remainder of our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maw12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing