We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$265
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
$198
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$282
$199
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$86
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$176
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$493
$317
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$642
$572
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$448
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,251)
Filter reviews
4,251 results
Traveler rating
2,983
1,003
179
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,983
1,003
179
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hoteldam squarecanal view roomcomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areaanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotelbeautiful roommajor attractionswould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,152 - 3,157 of 4,251 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Incredible hotel and experience! We loved Amsterdam and the hotel made it an even better experience. The location is perfect and right in the heart of everything. The staff was wonderful! I really cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The next time we are in Amsterdam we will stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pugaroo540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Stayed for three nights from 20th October to 23 October & found it more than lived up to our expectations. We had a very comfortable, quiet room with large bathroom. The hotel was warm & comfortable with exceptionally charming, helpful & efficient staff. The breakfast was delicious & the complementary coffee, chocolate or tea very much appreciated. The hotel is on a lovely stretch of a quiet canal within easy walking distance of almost everything. There is a selection of restaurants to suit every taste & pocket just around the corner in Spuistraat . The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is that the grouting & tiling in our bathroom needed some maintainance

The only negative experience we had in Amsterdam was that we were very overcharged for our taxi from the station. We asked the hotel to get us a taxi back to the station. This was less than half the price we paid to get there

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PADUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. It is full of charm and elegance. The decor is lavish and welcoming and a change from the usual modern hotel. The reception areas were gorgeous with polished wood and chandeliers. But what really sets this hotel apart is the customer service. The staff are friendly and any slight problems we encountered were dealt with efficiently and with a smile. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. The complimentary refreshment area was a nice touch and very welcoming after a long day. The hotel is situated on a quiet stretch of canal but only 5 mins walk from the hustle and bustle. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet comfortable stay,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed there 3 nights from 12th Oct. We were absolutely pleased with everything the size of the room has enough space to open 2 hugh samsonite luggages + hand carry + has a writing table, the ensuite has everything incuding cotton buds and even bathroom slippers. On top of that the breakfast has a wide choice of bread and pastries including hot hard boiled egges, the waiting staff were excellent and very quick to respond. The front desk receptionists and the potters were all absolutely wonderful and of course the free flow of hot chocolates and biscuits help when we returned in the night and feeling cold and waiting a hot drink and there it is. No fuss at all. The location of the hotel is just great as well. 5 minutes walk to Dam Square and to where all the food is. We visited Anne Frank's house (10 minutes walked), Van Gogh museum (tram), Behjinhor (where the nun used to stay- 5 minutes walk), Molen van Sloten Windmill (by tram) and of course we walked to the famous Red light district, we truly enjoyed ourselves and because the hotel is so conveniently located, we can come back anytime when we were tired. We had a great stay. I would defintely stay there again if I were to visit. The only thing we weren't sure was why the receptionist advised that we take a cab to and from Schipol airport instead of taking the shuttle bus. We decided to take the shuttle bus anyway and we had a wonderful tour of the various drop off points for free. The shutttle was on time on both journeys and we were equally pleased.

Stayed: October 2008
5  Thank ViewTheWorldWithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Estherea for two nights this October. From the moment you enter its opulent panelled lobby you feel welcome. Our room wasn't quite ready and we were invited to help ourselves to free coffee, tea or hot chocolate (really good), while we waited. Our room overlooked the canal and had a pretty four poster bed. It boasted every convenience even down to the free slippers (well at least I hope they were free!).

Breakfast was quite simply wonderful! Every conceivable thing you could possibly want to eat, from fresh fruit and smoothies, cereal, different breads and pastries to lovely crisply fried bacon, 'proper' sausages and eggs (scrambled or fried). Once we ate here in the morning, we didnt need anything until dinner time!

We walked everywhere from this hotel, it couldn't be better placed for any attraction you may wish to visit.

My only critiscism would be the lack of proper lighting to read by at night and to fix my face in the morning (!) and our bathroom was a little small, but these were minor flaws.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to feel spoiled and relaxed at the end of a day.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Guinevere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews