We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have just stayed in the Hotel Estherea to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found it to be an excellent choice. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The public areas were great and we loved the opulent decor. The breakfast offered loads of choice. The staff were also extremely professional,helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thank you to all at Hotel Estherea, we have had terrific time here. Value for money, with lots of luxury and staff that go out of their way to help, warm & friendly. Highly recommend you should give it a try! Great location. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Great view of the canal from the front, but we also had one in the middle overlooking courtyard stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Here's what we liked: location great, decor very nice, coffee/beverages/snacks were good, our room 310 was well-furnished, bed comfortable, canal views great, hotel itself has a lot of character, library, dining room, bar very special. Here's what we didn't like: air temperature controls unresponsive and created cold draft in seating area, louvered doors to bathroom compromised privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Estherea at the end of May. It was our second time at the hotel and it did not disappoint. The hotel is perfectly located within a short walk to most major attractions. The room is small yet perfectly appointed. What makes the Hotel Estherea a stand out though is the wonderful front of house staff. They are warm and welcoming and eager to help you with all your needs. They helped set my husband and I up on their rental Vespa for the day and pointed out some place just outside Amsterdam to go to. This was a perfect stop at the beginning of our trip.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank akelsall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our second stay in the hotel, and just as enjoyable as last time. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and cool, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The room we booked was a little larger than last time as we booked a deluxe for a special birthday. Would visit again even in a smaller room. Reliably worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is lovely, the staff extraordinarily helpful and knowledgeable, the situation in Amsterdam perfect for sightseeing and for food, the view stunning but the room was too small to " swing a cat". We adjusted but only just.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

There is always some apprehension about checking into a hotel that you find online but one of our group discovered she had a friend who had stayed here and with additional input from tripadvisor we decided to go for it. The outside of the hotel hides what is behind the front door. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was quite large with what seemed to be a newly renovated bathroom. The only complaint, and not really one, just a bit awkward, was that the toilet was in a room on its own. This meant that you had to come out a door take two steps and open the bathroom door to wash your hands. Not too sure why they just did not open up the wall between the two. The age of the building may have had something to do with it. That being said, the rest of the room was comfortable and well done. Over all the hotel were fantastic, the staff we encountered were all gracious and helpful. I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bono51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing