We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with unfriendly and rude staff”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We reserved 2rooms for three nights. The worst rooms in the hotel. Right by the wood stairs with people running up and down till 3 am. Staff was extremely snooty and obviously were not fond of Americans. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank silentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is in a central position, walking distance to great shopping, museums and restaurants. We had a very quiet smaller room, on the top floor, with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. It was unseasonably hot during our stay though and we found the air conditioning inadequate; because the room windows opened onto an enclosed courtyard there was also no airflow to cool at night. Overall the service was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Hotel Estherea is situated on a lovely canal in a fine neighborhood within an easy walk of some of the best shops, museums, and restaurants in the city. The room itself was well furnished and the king-size bed, unusual for Europe, was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fit for royalty. Most of the staff were friendly, fluent in multiple languages, and helpful, although one staff person (Mr. Singh) was rude to the point of being hostile. D. Jenkins, June, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Highly recommend. Attentive staff made out stay a pleasure. Excellent breakfast and service. Rooms vary in size so state your expectations accordingly to ensure satisfaction in that regard.
Among the best

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in April. It is exquisitely decorated in period furnishings. The breakfasts were the best we had in Europe - it was all downhill at our next two hotels in Paris and London. Everything was fresh and delicious, with a tremendous selection. As a gluten-free person, I was particularly accommodated, although I would have loved to taste the many pastries.The staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in response to all of our requests. When I thanked the front desk manager for the excellent service, he said that they really prized the interaction between guests and staff. The only downside for us was that we had a very small room with no bureaus in which to stow the stuff that we had brought for our almost 3-week vacation. The bathroom did have 2 sinks, however. Next time, I would definitely ask for a larger room, one with a canal view if possible. However, our room was very quiet and we had no street noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went traveling with my family and another family that we are friends with. We started out our European trip in Amsterdam staying in this hotel. I was the one who chose the hotel for the group and I got really lucky choosing such a fantastic place! I was worried that I had chosen something that would be a flop as if you tried to find this hotel on other sites, it wasn't very easy. First tip, BOOK THROUGH THE HOTEL WEBSITE! They offer deals if you book through them, and we received a free canal cruise! When you get to the hotel, it's actually bigger than what others make it to seem, and boy is it beautiful! They have small elevators but there are two of them. Make use of the free expresso machine. It rained almost the whole time we were there, so the free hot chocolates were perfect. The rooms are a bit small, which is to be expected, however so charming. Plus you're in Amsterdam, you're not supposed to spend your time in the room! My parents ate at the bar and said the food was good, nothing special, BUT if you get down to the lobby in the afternoon/night time there are yummy treats waiting for you by the expresso machine. We also emailed them quite frequently with questions, so much so that I felt like we were being an annoyance, but they responded quickly and never failed to answer our questions and calm our concerns. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed the hotel, but I can say that I will recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam, and if I ever get the chance to go again, I will be staying at Hotel Estherea!

Room Tip: Book through the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Estherea from 6 to 9 juni 2014, and will defenetly be back! This hotell had everything we are looking for. Great location, quiet, but near the great shops and cafe`s. Big and luxurious rooms (we had a delux room), a balcony, and the best breakfast ever!! And a very serviceminded staff. Thank you all for a great stay:-) Elisabeth and Rolf

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $171 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing