We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel-stay ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel-stay ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Estherea from 6 to 9 juni 2014, and will defenetly be back! This hotell had everything we are looking for. Great location, quiet, but near the great shops and cafe`s. Big and luxurious rooms (we had a delux room), a balcony, and the best breakfast ever!! And a very serviceminded staff. Thank you all for a great stay:-) Elisabeth and Rolf

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    890
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
623
1,974
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We started our European vacation with 4 days at this Beautiful Boutique Hotel and were very glad we did. The hotel is on a quiet canal (some nights not) and the interior lived up to the website pictures. We loved the 24 hour expresso/coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby area. we also used the 2 computers in the lounge to print our boarding passes for our flight out. we had 2 rooms. one for my wife and I and one for my daughters. my daughters had an interior room and their bathroom was actually quite larger than our canal room and much quieter than our room as late party revelers made noise passing by and woke us up so we had to close our windows. my point is if all you want to do is sleep then an interior room is the way to go but if you want and have time to spend in the room and a canal view is what you want those rooms can be noisier. We had read previous posts about having to leave your room keys with the front desk when you left and can confirm that there is no formal requesting of ID when you return and ask for your room key which is a suggestion for improvement. We did not take any meals in the restaurant or drinks at the bar (should have ordered the drink). There are complimentary umbrellas in the front lobby which was a nice touch. We were VERY IMPRESSED with this hotel and will highly recommend it. We loved Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

People at hotel great, very helpful, nice and competent. Rooms great. Location great. All in all a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting Amsterdam and surrounding areas. Our first time there, but worth coming back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent a weekend at Estherea - enjoyed everything from the super comfy beds, to the eclectic decor, to the staff friendliness, to the L'Occitane toiletries, to Maria's bar. The hotel is tastefully luxurious, without making you feel uncomfortable. Perfect location on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, Anne Frank's Museum, and the nine shopping streets, among others. I plan on staying there again on my next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOV8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Dutch efficiency, quick check-in, very clean, everything is just right, not too much not lacking. Only complain is that room is a bit pricey in early June. Front desk very helpful, they give you good tips on good bakery and restaurants around the area. Euro300 per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we arrived very early in the morning from our long flight from Australia. We were delighted that they found us a room at that time and were able to check- in way before the normal time. The room was beautifully appointed and very pretty with good views of the canal. Unfortunately noise from the automatic opening doors below us and the night porter bell disturbed us a lot. I have to mention that we are quite noise sensitive. It sounded like someone was moving furniture and it was constant. This may be a small hotel but it is busy. They generously offer free coffee and tea in the lobby as well as free Wifi!
We have no complaints about anything else in fact the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated. We would definitely return but to another door not over the front entrance!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a larger room overlooking the canal but not room 112 which is over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you really like walking around a city, then the Hotel Estherea is a great place to stay in Amsterdam-- you never have to take a taxi anywhere, as its central location is just minutes, literally, for almost everything worth seeing in Amsterdam. My wife and I loved its location right on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, the Royal Palace, The Anne Frank House, the Rijks Museum, etc., etc.. etc... It's just in a great place. The rooms are a bit tight, but manageable and the staff, to a person, are helpful. This is a very fine hotel and great if you really like to walk a city to get to know it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oborozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing