We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful European hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Wonderful European decor hotel. Fantastic location within walking distance to all major attractions. Fantastic breakfast as well. Room is well furnished, very tasty and European style. Lobby is colourful. Good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel Estherea certainly exceeded all our expectations! Beautifully presented, friendly, helpful staff, and fabulous breakfasts! Situated on the Singel Canal, right on the edge of the 9 Streets area of Amsterdam, you couldn't be better placed. Free wifi throughout the Hotel for those attached to their i pads/phones, excellent bar for pre/post dinner drinks, with complimentary tea/coffee, flavoured water for refreshments after a long day exploring the city. Our bed was one if the most comfortable we've ever had on our travels in Europe! A lovely view of the canal from our humble classic room, what more could you ask for? Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this interesting city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 402 two days before and two days after cruise. Choose because only 10 minutes to cruise terminal. What a surprise, this hotel is great. Covers all the basics, clean, friendly staff, good location, safe and good value. Breakfast is delicious, breatiful setting and free espresso 24/7.
Bed is very comfortable with quality linens. Over 50 Restaurants within 10 minute or less walk. Decor is authentic for era and very well restored. Elevator makes walk to room easy. Nice exercise equipment in small gym. Strongly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Hotel Estherea is a lovely hotel in a very convenient location. Amsterdam is a city that is good to explore on foot (just watch out for the bike riders) and we covered a lot of territory in many directions from our base at Estherea. The front desk staff is helpful with advice on reservations, making reservations for you, and answering all manner of questions. We had several breakfasts in the bar rather than do a breakfast buffet in the restaurant area and recommend this as an alternative. The 24/7 coffee and tea is terrific, and the cookies were appreciated after many hours of walking. We would return to the Hotel Estherea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just stayed three nights at Estherea after eight days on a river cruise. The location on Singel canal is wonderful..and it is indeed beautiful. In fact, we are very glad we chose it..so did several couples we met on our cruise. If you are a walker/ city explorer, when you travel the location is terrific.

Just some tweeking would make it the tops. First, I was surprised (not for Europe, but in contrast to the room on the boat) that therewas virtually NO clothing storage...well, five hangers, and two shelves,,Second, the front desk staff was OK, but just..one in particular, we hope was being trained because he seemed lazy and uninterested. We asked re dining advice from a couple others and in one case directions and they seemed unsure. One gentleman was great,the others need some training.The lamps in the room must have been 25 watts..I'm not one to sit in a hotel room on a trip, but really?? I should be able to look at a map by lamplight. Last, and not much, there is a lovely little bar. Our first night, stopping for a nightcap, I asked the bartender for wine advice. His answer "I don't know.I've never tried any of them" REALLY?

The funny thing is, I never nitpick such nice places, but considering its location and appearance, the small "offs" were more noticeable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samjammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very charming hotel on very good location in max. 20' walk from everything. Very comfortable hotel, friendly and attentive service, wonderful breakfast an good bar! Very good advice in restaurants (indonesian, tapas, italian)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights of beautiful weather in May. Our room overlooked the canal and was roomy and comfortable. During the afternoon, we kept the curtains pulled to deter the warm sun, but we could open the windows at night for fresh, cool air.

The breakfasts were nice, with lots of fruit. There were also several bakeries close by for a less expensive morning meal.

The location was excellent, being an easy walk to the city center, and walking distance from many other sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $167 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing