We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
1 review
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Beautiful and clean, great location, fantastic food, staff would bend over backwards for you - always charming and polite! Rooms are beautiful designed and all unique, with complimentary toiletries. Definitely would recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,464
    890
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
622
1,972
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely property & great location. We will stay when we come again. Room was small yet adequate for our needs. Staff was very helpful; we used some of restaurant recommendations with good results. We were not made aware of scooter & bikes available.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for only two nights, however, I wish it could have been two weeks. The Hotel is beautiful, right on the canal. It is also very centrally located and you can either walk or rent a bike to get basically anywhere in Amsterdam.
On the drive up we stopped at the Kinderdijk windmill park south of town and really enjoyed that also. Also don't forget to go to the Military museum in Arnhem. Jack

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecowbell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was an overnight trip with my son, and Hotel Estherea was a wonderful hotel. We were lucky to find a room during a busy week. We loved the location, as it was near everything we came to see. The decor of the hotel is fantastic, from the lighting, the fabrics, the fish tanks, and the crystals. After walking around Amsterdam, we enjoyed the coffee, water, and snacks welcoming us back. The staff was incredibly nice, and our room was so clean and interesting. Thanks! We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were fortunate to find this hotel out of the many on offer in Amsterdam - we were looking for a medium sized hotel in a typically characteristic Amsterdam building on the side of a canal and that is just what we got. The location was peaceful on Singel, but just a short walk away from a vast choice of restaurants and bars, museums, art galleries etc. Amsterdam is not a huge city so it is a pleasure to walk around or use trams, buses or canal boats. Its a bustling but not a stressful city. Hotel Estherea could not be faulted in any way - the decor is quite lavish and colourful but well chosen and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.The breakfast buffet choice was great and the dining room cosy and comfortable. Hopefully I will get to visit Amsterdam again and I would choose to stay at the Hotel Estherea every time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrutineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was looking for a nice hotel for my first trip to Amsterdam and settled on Hotel Estherea due to its location and good reviews on Tripadvisor. It was not cheap but it was an excellent choice, perfectly located in the central canal area, within walking distance of everything. The staff was friendly and very helpful in every way. Our deluxe room was spacious and very up to date. They seem to take every step to make the rooms clean and tidy. If you stay at Hotel Estherea and want to include breakfast, sign up during the reservation process and you will save 5 Euro per day. The breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: One thing to consider is that the rooms facing the back of the hotel can be noisy. If this is an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10LeagueBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I had a 5 day stay in Amsterdam before we went to Paris, and simply loved the Hotel Estherea! The location was great, and we walked everywhere we went in the very pedestrian friendly city. We had a canal-side room, which I would highly recommend. The staff were very attentive and accommodating, and we loved the coffee, tea and goodies available all day just beyond the front desk. The breakfast was delicious and varied; I guarantee anyone will be able to find something they like to eat! Highly recommended, and I know when we return to Amsterdam we will stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our canal side room was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing