We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short break...”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at the the hotel for a two day break, the staff were young, helpful, and extremely polite.The hotel, although not cheap, was perfectly placed for a very short stroll in the city centre, the rooms were small but very well equipped, and very clean and warm.Breakfast was a bit pricey,18 Euros for a continental breakfast, but we couldn't be bothered to wak 100 meteres to go elsewhere, so serves us right!

The best thing we did while we were there was hire the hotel bikes, we are both in our 50's but found cycling around the city not only great fun, but also so easy, just ring your bell and everyone moves out the way!!!

We had a lovely time, the hotel was perfect and I would highly recommend it !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHolt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,953)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Estherea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 3,953 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

Lovely room, unfortunately my boyfriend and weren't given a double bed but two single beds put together. Perfect location, beautiful bar, beautiful hotel, I can happily recommend this place to stay. All the little details are wonderful and the l'octaine soap, shampoo shower gel is just a lovely touch. Polite and friendly staff, very professional. Would have gotten five stars if we had a double bed with a room with a better view

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the canal
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahmaemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for one night only and it was the perfect ending to our 10 days Europe trip. Our stay was extremely comfortable and we really wished we could extend our stay for a few more days but sadly, we were short on time.

The staff was amazing and especially the Hotel Manager was really helpful. He upgraded us to their top suite and it was the most grand suite, I have stayed in so far. You definitely feel like royalty in there.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Hardly 10 minutes walk from the Central station and in walking distance to many local attractions. The breakfast is great value for money as well.

We are planing another trip to Europe in May and this time around, we have full plans of staying longer at this hotel and enjoy Amsterdam even more than last time. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room on the top floor, which was spacious and quiet and the only room with a balcony apparently. Lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Each member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lounge and bar areas are beautifully decorated and it was lovely to stay somewhere not going for the 'Travelodge' type of decor! The location was ideal being close to the centre if you want typical shopping and the Dam Square but also on the edge of the 9 streets in the Jordaan area if you prefer the canals and smaller independent shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Room 519 - deluxe room on the top floor was spacious and very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location, staff and breakfast are fine. Room was clean but so little and dark. In the morning it was impossible to know what is the weather like , we could not see anything. 4 stars is 1 star too much

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anneli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotels attention to detail is excellent. Every amenity you can imagine and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. I felt that this hotel was the best out of all the hotels we stayed in along our trip

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights end of March at Hotel Estherea. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The common rooms are beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed the generous and varied breakfast buffet (worth the price to reserve in advance) as well as drinks in the bar.

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center but also just far enough away from all the foot traffic. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed the relative peacefulness of the neighboring Jordaan.

We booked 2 rooms - a canal view (#314) and a family room (#319). Both were well appointed with comfortable beds and nice decor. The canal view room was very quiet at night, but our daughters said they had noise into the wee hours in their room at the back of the hotel which overlooks bars/restaurants on Spui Straat. Their room also sat directly above one of Amsterdam's coffee shops so, unless you enjoy the smell, you would want to keep your windows closed.

All-in-all, it was a lovely stay and one we would repeat in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Singel Canal in the front of the hotel seem much quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktblax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $207 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing