We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Great location Great Base”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #21 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Hotel is small but beautifully formed mad but wonderful Decor, room was very small but clean and more mad Decor lovely Loccotane soap shower stuff etc. Well trained and very helpful Staff it's a great base there is Tea Coffee and some treats for guests with no charge in the lobby. They will book any Museums for you but there are 2 computers you can use with free wifi as booking saves queuing. To be fair we had the lowest price double but is had Canal View. Slept well but it's an old Hotel and thin walls if you know what I mean ,you could hear things !!! Not the Hotel fault the Guests.Really is well located for your stay nothing is far away we booked direct and got a later check out time at no cost and stayed 3 Days so got a bottle of Italian sparkling wine thanks it was lovely. Please note this is a great base and very small hotel. But you are there to sight see and if
Quirky is not you go to a boring modern hotel. This chic mini boutique we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poopon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,757 of 4,073 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had a really wonderful stay at Hotel Estherea! Although my room was quite small, it was exquisitely decorated down to the smallest detail, and for me the decor made up for the tight quarters. It would be very small though for more than one person. The bed was comfortable, and the room had all the amenities one would need, including enough outlets for charging various electronics. Breakfast was extra, and a full and excellent breakfast can be had in the lovely dining area. Or if you prefer, you can have a smaller breakfast in the bar area. The staff was extremely kind and helpful, and they went out of their way for me on a number of occasions. The location was quite central, and yet quiet. I had a beautiful view of the canal. Flowers were everywhere in the hotel, with lovely displays that would suit a floral designer. We were able to walk to everything, and trams were close by if needed. Walking is wonderful in Amsterdam, but you do have to keep alert watching out for bicycles and trams! In the future, I would go out of my way just to stay at Hotel Estherea again! This hotel was an experience unto itself, and truly enhanced my visit to wonderful Amsterdam! Thanks ☺

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ebbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

THE BAD
Room cold
Room small
Poor amenities
Single beds

THE GOOD
Nice common parts
Canal View great
Location great
quiet
staff nice
tea/coffee amenity is good

i loved the people and loved loved loved the location but i would not return

the €18 each breakfast looked poor value ............we ate at cafe restaurants close to the hotel and had a lovely time

Room Tip: if you do decide to stay ,do try and get a canal view room DONT take the breakfast option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Chose this hotel through Tripadvisor and I am so glad that I did. I wanted the hotel to be something special as I was travelling to Amsterdam with my daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday and it did not disappoint. The location was fantastic, within walking distance of all the major sites and on a very picturesque canal well-served with cafes and restaurants. The decor was lovely and the complimentary tea and coffee was appreciated as was the wifi access. The staff at the hotel were brilliant - it was our first visit to the city and they couldn't do enough to help us. We had a canal side room which was definitely worth the extra cost. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed and we liked the little extra thought of the complimentary box of chocolates for my daughter's birthday. A superb place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a canal view room if you can - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Totally picked this hotel through Tripadvisor reviews and it did not fail me! We stayed for two nights on the end of a 10 day trip to Europe. It was perfect way to end out trip!

Located on the Singel it allowed us to walk everywhere in Amsterdam, so easy to get around from there. The bed was super comfortable and our room was in a quite corner with a jacuzzi tub, it was so nice! The decor is unique and luxurious.

The front desk staff was helpful and made some great recommendations on places to eat and coordinated our taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Estherea is a family run hotel they told me, and it shows. The attention to detail is staggering. The location cannot be faultered, on the Singel Canal, 5 minutes from the Dam and with easy acces on foot or by tram to all the attractions. The decor is perhaps a bit overdone,but the flower arrangements are stunning. I loved my room, with it`s quirky decor, and roomy size. The free coffee/tee facility by the reception is a nice touch, and the breakfast is delicious and more than adequate,even though a bit steeply priced. There is an ironing board/iron in one of the cupboards of the room, and the toiletries are lovely. Everything in this hotel functions like clockwork, it`s calm and quiet, they will book and inform and answer all your questions.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ithaca96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our first time in Amsterdam and if we go back we will certainly stay here again, an individual hotel, luxuriously decorated with extremely friendly and helpful staff. There is no evening dinner service and we didn't take breakfast but there are a number of restaurants and places for breakfast close by. Our canal side room was well appointed, we had seen a negative comment about no coffee/tea making in the room but there is free tea, coffee, biscuits and pastries in the lounge. Drinks at the bar come with a selection of nibbles and olives, a nice place to start and end an evening.
Sited next to the Singel canal it's quiet and in easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have the benefit of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,216 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
502 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $156 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing