We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booked on strength of TA reviews (and availability) and, while the hotel's far from bad, we left feeling it was over-priced. For over £200 per night excluding breakfast (an additional €18 per person), I'd expect room with more than 70cm around the bed, I'd expect a full length mirror in the room, I'd expect to be able to apply make-up without worrying that I'll go out looking like a clown (the bathroom lights have dark brown shades over them….), I'd expect a TV that works consistently and I'd expect the cleaner to exit the lift when we wanted to use it, rather than announce "I'm going down". They're little things, I know, but, combined, they just left us thinking that Estherea had promised more than it had delivered. Oh, and rather than get stung for €36 for breakfast, try Greenwood's, a 10 minute walk up Singel - absolutely fantastic breakfast, charming staff and you'll have change from €10….

Room Tip: Go to top floor, you'll be spared elephants above you. We can only assume the canal rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
680
2,115
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

As this was our first visit to Amsterdam we spent time researching TA for the right hotel for us. Hotel Estherea fitted our requirements and we booked a canal side room. If anything the hotel exceeded our expectations - clean, spacious room with a wonderfully comfortable bed and modern bathroom. We loved all the little extras - from the L'Occitane toiletries in our room to the free tea and coffee in the lounge. We are not particularly bothered about a full breakfast and opted to have coffee and croissants in one of the many local cafes..

The big plus for us was the friendly and knowledgeable staff. They all spoke perfect English and always had time to give advice on places to go and how to get around the city. The were able to walk that fine line between absolute professionalism and friendliness and were a key ingredient in making our stay so pleasurable. A good sign is how they cope with problems - there was a considerable difference between the quoted price and the bill when we checked out. The head receptionist carefully checked all the details and confirmed it was their mistake,

There is no evening dinner service but there are plenty of good restaurants within a short stroll. We would particularly recommend 'Restaurant Haesje Claes' about 5 minutes stroll away in Spuistraat.

Should be come back to Amsterdam, Hotel Estherea would be our first choice. Thanks to all who made our stay so enjoyable,

Room Tip: For us the canal side rooms were worth the extra 20 euros per night per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I needed a decent place for a recent 2-day business trip to Amsterdam and was lucky to have chosen this hotel. The location is perfect - close to everything and still not too crowdy and noisy. My deluxe double room seemed of right size and felt very comfortable. The coffee/tea machine with complementary cookies and pastries in the lobby area came in very handy late night and early morning. Finally, but the most important, is the Hotel Estherea staff and their attitude. All my questions and requests were dealt with quickly, gently and effectively. With a smile I should add! And this counts a lot for me. I do want to come back there and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tem5606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We spend 4 days in Hotel Estherea celebration my 70 birthday. Everything was just as we wanted it. We meet up with our daughter in law and son, who come and stay here a couple of times every year. The bed was the best we have slept in. The breakfast was good and plenty, enough to keep you going for hours. We felt very welcome . My Daughter in Law and I got a very nice present from the Hotel, this warmed our hearts. We will for sure again meet up with the family here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Inger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Didn't know if we'd made the right decision when we chose this hotel for our week in Amsterdam. It turned out to be a very good choice as the Estherea is friendly, efficient and seemed to be in just the right location for us - a quiet, pretty neighbourhood from where we could walk to almost anywhere tourists would want to walk. Complimentary tea, coffee and nibbles at all times; fresh pillow slips daily; colourful bar - these were some of the delights. We were upgraded to a canal view as well. Good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for 3 nights in March 2014 and found it to be a great hotel, it has a lot of character and is very comfortable. We were upgraded from a standard room to one with a Jacuzzi bath, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very old world. Its location is perfect and is a short walk to most attractions and only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the central station. Dam Square is about 5 minutes walking. The hotel is quite expensive but you are paying for quality. We would highly recommend it, for couples especially.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I couldn't have been happier with the hotel. My Mum and I spent three nights, delicious breakfasts, great location for walking to the sights, comfortable beds and lovely decor. Best of all the staff were all so helpful, patient and genuinely wanted to make our stay the best it could be. I would definitely recommend the Estherea, in fact I have already and would like to return myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 812RHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
614 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing