We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for 3 nights in March 2014 and found it to be a great hotel, it has a lot of character and is very comfortable. We were upgraded from a standard room to one with a Jacuzzi bath, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very old world. Its location is perfect and is a short walk to most attractions and only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the central station. Dam Square is about 5 minutes walking. The hotel is quite expensive but you are paying for quality. We would highly recommend it, for couples especially.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,471
    891
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,976
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I couldn't have been happier with the hotel. My Mum and I spent three nights, delicious breakfasts, great location for walking to the sights, comfortable beds and lovely decor. Best of all the staff were all so helpful, patient and genuinely wanted to make our stay the best it could be. I would definitely recommend the Estherea, in fact I have already and would like to return myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 812RHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The best word to describe this hotel is fabulous. It's so decadently designed with beautiful chandeliers, comfy sofas and a stunning aquarium. The attention to detail is unsurpassed; it's clean, there's a coffee area with everything you could ever want for a relaxing drink such as a selection of cakes and sweets-much better than the normal kettle and cheap biscuits that you get in most hotels. Although the gym isn't big, the equipment is good. The toiletries are so nice as they're all by l'occitaine. What with this and all the fresh flowers around, this is the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. In fact I think it's my favourite ever hotel purely as it has so much character.

Helpful?
Thank javubu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having visited this hotel almost exactly a year ago, we fell in love with it to such an extent that we decided to go back this easter holiday. To Amsterdam - wonderful city and to Estherea on the Singel canal - all romance and idyll. We booked privately - directly with the hotel and discovered that the prices were a lot higher than last year - probably because of the holidays - almost NOK 25.000.- for 3 rooms, 3 nights. We decided to swallow that - to try to find it acceptable. Then - 2 weeks after the booking was made and price was agreed - they mailed us and announced that they had the pleasure to inform us that they were going to charge us the double price of one of the rooms. That was the limit for us and we cancelled the booking. Important point: They upped the price after the hotel was fully booked - no more vacancy the net said - then they can afford to take an even higher price - they are more or less auctioning their rooms away to the highest bidder. We find this unfair and unbusinesslike. Be warned!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
18 Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have written a full review of this hotel over on my blog, with plenty of photo's, which you can view here http://www.closbeautyspot.com/2014/03/hotel-estherea-amsterdam.html

Overall this is a wonderful hotel, nicely decorated, room was spacious, staff were friendly and helpful, and good location right in centre.

Bad points are that the window of the bedroom did not face outside but into a courtyard. And also cooked breakfast is not good, more suitable for continental taste.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

reception very helpfull. situation more than good.Breakfest is very good and always refilled. price and value are more than correct. Nearby a lot of very good and local restaurants. For renting bycicles it is not far





  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Estherea in early March 2014. An excellent hotel in the old part the City within easy walking distance of many of the city's attractions, including the Anne Frank House, Rijksmuseum, Flower Market, Dam Square and 10 minutes from Central Station. The staff were very helpful. The hotel does not serve dinner but there are many good restaurants very close to the hotel. We arrived in Amsterdam on an early flight and the hotel was happy to accept our luggage before the room was available for check-in so that we could enjoy the day without our cases. This was our first stay and we would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking an internal courtyard if you are looking for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing