We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Estherea!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return to Estherea!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had stayed here some time back and we always said we would return! Loved all the changes and the expansion. We picked a room with a jetted tub, it was very relaxing after a long day of museums and walking. Wonderful location, Maria's Bar was very convenient and all the staff were great! If we come back to Amsterdam, it will be Hotel Estherea again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwparis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,658
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
680
2,114
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went here for Valentine's weekend and were simply amazed by everything. Hotel staff were polite and friendly. We arrived early morning before the room was ready and they kindly took our luggage and advised the room would be ready around 3pm. We decided to put the time to good use and visit the Anne Frank museum (go early to avoid huge queues).
Everything is a short walk or tram ride away. The hotel staff told us we could grab a 3-day tram ticket for 16 Euros back from the GVB building (back near the main train station). We got some but ended up walking almost everywhere anyway.
We returned to the hotel at about 2pm and the room was ready. Room was lovely and clean. Felt cosy but not small. 4-poster bed, small chandelier and all the usual chair and dressing table. The decor was fantactic, like a modern, classic, chic finish that we both really liked and it was perfect for romance for Valentines. We felt the room was a little hot for our liking so went and spoke to reception. They advised the the aircon was off for the entire hotel as it was the cold season, however they kindly activated it singularly for our room so we were able to change the temp.
This was really a lovely hotel. My first visit to Dam, not my last, and I don't think I'll be able to stay anywhere else other than Estherea!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heezeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I arrived into the hotel very late in the evening. The hotel door was locked. I had to ring twice for it to get opened. I was met by a girl in a coat, ready to leave. Then another one appeared and they spoke between themselves not in English which I found very rude. I got into my room through narrow corridors, laid down on my bed thinking that the matress and the pillow were cheap and uncomfortable and...... Had one of the best night sleeps in my life. The following days made me really like the hotel. Yes, the rooms are small, wifi not reliable, heater/air conditioner in the room is quite loud, but beakfasts are great, location is perfect and, what's most important, the hotel does have this character and charm that you can see by looking at the hotel photos on the web. So, i would recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: We paid for a room upgrade to get extra space and the room was still very small. I believe that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BezImyannayaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was warm, pleasant.
Very good breakfast. I wished every hotel was like this one.
Maria's bar had good cocktails, everything fresh made.
The location is excellent. If you want to have a very good restaurant nearby: Beulings in Beulingstraat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teus Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ive been to Amsterdam 15-20 times. Sometimes renting flats, sometimes hotels. Hotel Estherea is an excellent choice. I believe it is in the best location in Amsterdam... on the Singel Canal. Its close enough to the major tourist spots that you can walk anywhere easily, yet removed just enough to feel quiet. Hotel staff is very friendly and professional. Hotel is very clean and well appointed. As is the case with all the Amsterdam Hotels, space is a commodity, so dont expect large rooms... but certainly on par with any other property in Amsterdam and most of Europe.
I would highly recommend theis hotel to anybody visiting amsterdam.

Room Tip: if you can get the room with the balcony on top floor, that is great. Other than that, id go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Loveley and charming hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. We really injoyed everything. Excellent service and walking distance to all interesting sights. Even the car was taken care of! Our room was very romantic and we felt being where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel, comfy bed and quiet! Staff really helpful and booked in on arrival late morning. Looking forward to next time when visiting Amsterdam. 10 ** coffee machine in foyer :)



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
613 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing