We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for just 1 night and i would wish that I stayed here longer. The staff was friendly and very polite. The hotel was very clean and the view from our room was the best. I would suggest that you get a canal view to get a better experience of Amsterdam. The location was also good. We just walked from the central station station. It's like a 10-15 minute walk but it's not a boring walk since you will be passing through busy streets then once you reach the canal then you're already near the hotel. If you want to try the hop on hop off then there is also a stop at the back of the hotel. There are also many restos around the area. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrk129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,805 - 1,811 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this excellent hotel. Beautifully decorated, courteous staff, good breakfast and a ideal location for getting to know the city. Round the corner from Dam Square, a short walk to a good selection of restaurants and not too far from the cultural delights of Museum Square.
Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having travelled to Amsterdam for the first time to celebrate my friends birthday, this beautiful hotel was central for everything and an absolute delight and a joy to stay in. The young bartender that was on while we were there from the 5th was a star! The Estherea Hotel with its wonderful ambience, comfort, good food and welcoming, very caring and highly attentive staff make it an absolute must to visit. We loved our stay and wish we had stayed longer but hope to return again later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jac_2554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel Estherea is located very conveniently on Singel in a pair of canal side houses. From the sober facade it is hard to imagine the charm within.
The aquarium located inside the foyer tips the first time visitor to the careful management and decoration of the hotel. It is the most fascinating aquarium I've ever seen...most collected specimens are from Indonesia...watch for a while and you'll see all sorts of things moving around in there.
On our recent visit, our second, we took one of the suites on the lowest floor. The room is a jewel box...If a suite is available...take it...the few euros more will soon be forgotten....the memories; never. The standard rooms are very comfortable as well, of course.
The public spaces invite lingering over coffee, tea or something from the elegant bar.
There are other high end hotels in Amsterdam and they are good too, none are the Estherea

Room Tip: If a suite is available you should at least have a look...well worth the extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend in February. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the train station and situated on one of the canals. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we ventured out into Amsterdam. The weather was awful, raining continuously and very windy, however the hotel kindly provided large umbrellas. When we checked into our room on the third floor, it was quite small but very cosy and I loved the decor. However the room next to us and walls outside were having some serious DIY with a hammer drill. We called down to reception and they advised that the renovations would be a further 2 hours and offered us either a free breakfast in the morning or a room change. We opted to change room and were not disappointed.

The reception staff are lovely, the free hot chocolate is delicious and the hotel is in a brilliant location, perfect for exploring Amsterdam. I would highly recommend the hotel.....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Wacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a whim in January and it's got to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's just beautiful! I recommend getting an executive room, we stayed in one with a gorgeous four poster bed, quirky chandelier, huge bath (fits two!).
The bar is great... very pink, but in a classy way. And the free hot chocolate is definitely amazing. We didn't try the food as we wanted to experience the city, but I can say that the cocktails are yummy.
It's also in a great location, on a canal, five minutes from all the action in the city centre.

Basically... just go there, it's great.

Room Tip: We had the blue room, it's fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiziRicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife had found this excellent family 4* hotel and booked it to spend a night in A'dam. Strategically positioned close to the Dam, de 9 straatjes, Bijenkorf and the main shopping areas all in walking distance. We were surprised by the friendly staff young and experienced senior members. Great room with almost everything you would need. Ok the fridge wasn't full with anything just 2 small water bottles and I am sure they will address this, but really room service is good and fast. Luscious and royal that's how we felt. Sure we have been in huge 5* rooms around the world, but this was cosy, neat and as stated "royal". Breakfast with Proseco and spekkoek (Indonesian cake) and a huge variety of everything. Loved it and will come back for sure for another romantic overnight stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank okapoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $147 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing