We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, beautiful, central... everything you could want”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic, beautiful, central... everything you could want”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a whim in January and it's got to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's just beautiful! I recommend getting an executive room, we stayed in one with a gorgeous four poster bed, quirky chandelier, huge bath (fits two!).
The bar is great... very pink, but in a classy way. And the free hot chocolate is definitely amazing. We didn't try the food as we wanted to experience the city, but I can say that the cocktails are yummy.
It's also in a great location, on a canal, five minutes from all the action in the city centre.

Basically... just go there, it's great.

Room Tip: We had the blue room, it's fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiziRicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    940
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,094
119
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife had found this excellent family 4* hotel and booked it to spend a night in A'dam. Strategically positioned close to the Dam, de 9 straatjes, Bijenkorf and the main shopping areas all in walking distance. We were surprised by the friendly staff young and experienced senior members. Great room with almost everything you would need. Ok the fridge wasn't full with anything just 2 small water bottles and I am sure they will address this, but really room service is good and fast. Luscious and royal that's how we felt. Sure we have been in huge 5* rooms around the world, but this was cosy, neat and as stated "royal". Breakfast with Proseco and spekkoek (Indonesian cake) and a huge variety of everything. Loved it and will come back for sure for another romantic overnight stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank okapoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A place with a boutique hotel feel, where you feel right at home. Wonderful staff with a gorgeous breakfast. The all day free delicious cookies and treats along with the cappuccino is a small thing that goes a long way. It's only 20 minutes walking distance from any of the major attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoSobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We are only back from Amsterdam and we stayed in the Estherea Hotel. We absolutely loved this hotel.

The hotel was Three stops away from central station on the number 2 or 5 tram line. It was so easy to find. It was very central with it being just a little walk around the corner from Dam square.

The hotel looks out onto the canal and even though our room was not a canal view it didn't matter our room was still lovely. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted by the brilliant staff at the reception who took our bags up to our rooms. Oh the beds were so comfortable better than my own bed at home and the pillows were so soft. There was no noise at all. The rooms are very comfortable indeed.
The lobbie was big and spacious with great decor, a lovely place to relax looking at the big fish tank.

This hotel had great little treats for the guests, with complementary tea, coffee or hot chocolate to help yourself with at any time,the machine was just behind the reception desk. Sweet jars for the children . Flavored water to drink and cookies for your coffee. It was such a treat as i have never seen this in any other hotel.

We didn't have breakfast as it was €18 each but we heard it was great.
The bar was also well priced and you could order a little bar food there too if need be.


Over all we loved this hotel and we would definitely go back to the same hotel. I cannot recommend it enough.
Thank you to all the staff they are truly hand picked as they were all great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairbyraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was quite a bit more expensive than the other one I stayed in. It was however very spacious, quiet and in a great location. The room was very large (by European standards) with very colourful decor. The hotel also has a lift so no issues with heavy luggage or getting up and down Dutch staircases!

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was not included so we chose to go out and explore instead, there were plenty of places nearby to eat.

Fantastic location and if you are happy to pay that little bit more you will still get good value.

Thank you Hotel Estherea!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethatTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I chose Estherea for overnight stay due to its good reviews and location. Unfortunately only later was true: the location is great - in the middle of Old Town and very close to train station.
The single room I've reserved was however disappointment:
- very small,
- the heater was closed so it was cold
- the window was facing into the chimney-like opening in the roof with with view on three very close walls and roof at window level
- there was no drinking water or tea/coffee facilities in the room
- in the morning there was no cold water (!) so I had to take very hot shower

Sorry, but I'll not be coming back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed third time in Estherea, and will come again. Only points with"very good" a room size- this is small and noise from street onSunday night. Overall I am very satisfied.

I like the possibility to have cafe all the day and some small benefits - late check out, bottle of Prosecco...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mihkel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing