We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place-- a little funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place-- a little funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location is great and the room was clean. Service was very good. Only complaint is that there is no door lock inside the room which is very unusual in my experience. The hotel provides free coffee 24/7 and ponchos in the rain. I would stay here again but wish there was a lock I could lock on the inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,311
    854
    147
    37
    29
See reviews for
579
1,856
106
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great City , Great Location , Great Hotel , Great Service... Great Breakfast,
we enjoyed our stay very much , everyone was a great help to find us good restaurants arrange the boat trips etc, , definitely coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura4747187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A very pleasant stay in a cozy warm perfectly located hotel in central Amsterdam! The main sights, canals, and shopping all right there. The room was a bit small though just fine for a solo traveler (perhaps other rooms are larger), with a lovely view of the canal. Enjoyed the cocktails and ambiance of the bar. Great pubs and restaurants within walking distance and direct proximity to the 9-Streets boutique shops!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darcie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December and were extremely delighted with the hotel. Check in was quick, good and informative. The reception and bar/library areas are large and make it seem real "homey". Our room was large enough for us, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were plenty adequate. I liked that the windows could be opened to allow some fresh air inside. We did not have any problems with external noises at all.

Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the bar/reception area with cakes and slices at different times and gorgeous little bowls of boiled sweets (also in the room).
We didn't do breakfast here but there are many places within walking distance to do so.
The hotel is located in a fantastic location, close to everything.
The staff were always very friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel as it has so much character and is clean, tidy and friendly.

They do not do airport transfers but if you ask they can organise a set price with a taxi, charge it to your room and give you a taxi voucher. We did this returning to the airport and it was so much cheaper than the taxi we got from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here 21st-23rd December. It was just wonderful. We had a canal room with a four poster bed which was ready for us at 10.45am (perfect after a very early flight!). It's about a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station and overlooksthe Singel - so easy to find. It's very plush and luxurious and the staff were incredibly helpful and kind. even leaving us champagne and chocolates as it was our wedding anniversary. The bed was very comfortable indeed. During the day you could hear guests in the room above but there was no noise at night so we didn't mind and it wasn't an issue. The breakfast was fantastic and included prosecco which is a rather nice way to start the day! There were hams, cheese, fruit salad, eggs, bacon, sausage, cakes, pastries, juices, etc. Throughout the day the hotel provided free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and cakes which was a lovely touch. It's very well placed - being out of the direct touristy bit but close enough to walk everywhere. It's very very close the nine streets which are beautiful. The nearest restaurant Haesje Claes was also fantastic and they also provide a room service for the hotel. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_BurnsBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay was for 9 nights and could not be more perfect!
The room was lovely. We had a view to a courtyard with a live green wall with beautiful moss growing on it. The staff were always attentive, eager to help and always greeted you with a lovely smile! We are planning to go back and spend our holidays next year at the Estherea!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for a two night and three day mini break. It was in a very good location for just about all you can see in Amsterdam, from shopping, the nine streets, canal boat trips and Dam square. On the main road you can get buses or trams to everywhere and the main train station is a good fifteen minute walk or two mins if you hop on a tram (loved them). Went to a diamond factory very interesting but still couldn't afford any !! Our room was just as other reviewers mention, comfortable and a bit fancy, I will have to try harder at home. Loved the tea and coffee in the lobby home from home. Enjoyed the locals sense of humour, found them to be very warm and friendly and will be coming back for a weekend as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornintheukjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing