We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel, Great Location - Great Reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location - Great Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December and were extremely delighted with the hotel. Check in was quick, good and informative. The reception and bar/library areas are large and make it seem real "homey". Our room was large enough for us, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were plenty adequate. I liked that the windows could be opened to allow some fresh air inside. We did not have any problems with external noises at all.

Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the bar/reception area with cakes and slices at different times and gorgeous little bowls of boiled sweets (also in the room).
We didn't do breakfast here but there are many places within walking distance to do so.
The hotel is located in a fantastic location, close to everything.
The staff were always very friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel as it has so much character and is clean, tidy and friendly.

They do not do airport transfers but if you ask they can organise a set price with a taxi, charge it to your room and give you a taxi voucher. We did this returning to the airport and it was so much cheaper than the taxi we got from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,348
    865
    149
    39
    29
See reviews for
592
1,886
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here 21st-23rd December. It was just wonderful. We had a canal room with a four poster bed which was ready for us at 10.45am (perfect after a very early flight!). It's about a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station and overlooksthe Singel - so easy to find. It's very plush and luxurious and the staff were incredibly helpful and kind. even leaving us champagne and chocolates as it was our wedding anniversary. The bed was very comfortable indeed. During the day you could hear guests in the room above but there was no noise at night so we didn't mind and it wasn't an issue. The breakfast was fantastic and included prosecco which is a rather nice way to start the day! There were hams, cheese, fruit salad, eggs, bacon, sausage, cakes, pastries, juices, etc. Throughout the day the hotel provided free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and cakes which was a lovely touch. It's very well placed - being out of the direct touristy bit but close enough to walk everywhere. It's very very close the nine streets which are beautiful. The nearest restaurant Haesje Claes was also fantastic and they also provide a room service for the hotel. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_BurnsBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay was for 9 nights and could not be more perfect!
The room was lovely. We had a view to a courtyard with a live green wall with beautiful moss growing on it. The staff were always attentive, eager to help and always greeted you with a lovely smile! We are planning to go back and spend our holidays next year at the Estherea!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for a two night and three day mini break. It was in a very good location for just about all you can see in Amsterdam, from shopping, the nine streets, canal boat trips and Dam square. On the main road you can get buses or trams to everywhere and the main train station is a good fifteen minute walk or two mins if you hop on a tram (loved them). Went to a diamond factory very interesting but still couldn't afford any !! Our room was just as other reviewers mention, comfortable and a bit fancy, I will have to try harder at home. Loved the tea and coffee in the lobby home from home. Enjoyed the locals sense of humour, found them to be very warm and friendly and will be coming back for a weekend as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornintheukjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here after looking at various reviews. The reviews are right - this is a great place. Beautiful and comfortable rooms - really excellent decor, furniture, beds, bathroom. Reception, bar, and restaurant are also beautiful, breakfast was outstanding, and the location is fantastic. Walking distance to anything downtown and in old city, and on a very nice canal. It may be a bit expensive, but not really compared with other places in Amsterdam, and this is much nicer than a luxury hotel for the personal service and surroundings. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Main street-facing rooms could be loud, but windows block the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Hotel Estherea. The hotel is wonderfully appointed and the staff very friendly. There is free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby 24/7. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom amazing! The hotel offers free wi-fi throughout that had decent connectivity and bandwidth. Location wise, the hotel sits right on the Singel canal and is pretty central to shopping, the trams, and various tourist attractions. I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to pamper yourself whilst on holiday. Note: The floorboards in the room are a bit creaky - so if you have guests set in the room above you then there is a chance that you will hear them moving about throughout the evening - not a showstopper, just something to note.

Room Tip: Try and book a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKGDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked this property through tripadvisor for a 3 day/2 night city break. The deal inlcuded a free upgrade to a deluxe room and was therefore great value. The property is unusual, charming and old worldly - we have not stayed in a similar property before. The reception area has an attached library and bar. There is free coffe/tea and flavored water in the lounge which makes up the absence of these facilities in the room (free bottled water is provided in the room).
The room was a a bit on the smaller side but never the less beautiful. We had a jacuzzi in our bathroom which was quite large. The service was highly efficient, friendly and understated. The breakfasts were nice with a varied choice (pre-booking at the time of reservation enables a 5 euro discount PP). Otherwise it costs 18 euros PP and you may prefer visiting one fo the numerous cafes/delis for your breakfast.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in Dam Square and is only about 20 minutes by walks from central station. All the major sights are within walking distances (taxis are expensive).
An unusual, charming and surprising hotel. Definitely worth considering when visiting Amsterdam

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanarath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,291 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing