We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the golden era”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we were initially told that they did not expect us until the following day. After they sorted out their mistake, the rest of our stay had been very enjoyable. The breakfast was very good. They also gave us a free breakfast as compensation. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. A room with canal view was worth the money. Location was good in that restaurants and many city attractions were closeby. It was a pleasure to stay in such a magnificent period building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Exactly what we had hoped for when booking a few nights away in Amsterdam. Especially grateful for the upgrade to a deluxe with jacuzzi bath. We also really enjoyed the complimentary coffee, tea and delicious cakes on return after a busy day walking. The staff were all very friendly and keen to help. We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 night stay at Estehrea ,great staff,lovely room and a fantastic location,free coffee and cake great after a busy day exploring this superb city.Look forward to returning in the new year.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brackeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A truly excellent example of what a boutique hotel should be. Great character, helpful staff, great bar and a very comfortable room. A small tip - If you are staying the weekend, the dining room is quite small so don't arrive down for breakfast 15 minutes before the catering service ends or you'll end up queuing for your buffet breakfast. Don't despair. If this happens to you, slip around the corner to Le Pain Quotidien for an outstanding brunch.

Room Tip: If space is important to you, it's worth asking for (or paying more for) a larger room, as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluewatertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Can't say anything bad about the hotel, i had a lovely stay, its a boutique hotel, has a character, staff is very friendly and helpful, you can rent iPad for free for the length of your stay, free wi fi, good location, central station is only 15 minutes walk, will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Orange Suite was very nice, successfully mixing old with new. The generous layout provides a relaxing atmosphere and compensates for the ground level location. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Amsterdam near one of the Trachten.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phillipp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Estherea for a brief visit to Amsterdam to see the Rembrandts in the newly reopened rijksmuseum. My choice was made entirely on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor. What a great find!! The hotel is perfectly located with many attractions and great restaurants in easy walking distance. A short walk from the Dam Square and shopping, easy tram access and lovely views from both sides. My room 417 on the Spuistraat side was beautiful. A canopy bed, beautiful big bathroom with great light, a huge tub and a robe and towels that were thick and luxurious. A safe in the closet was free and all the amenities wanted were available. Wifi worked well. The view out my window was lovely and with the windows open there was a bit of lively street noise but no problem at all with windows closed. I chose to have breakfast at the hotel for convenience sake bit was ample and tasty. If you have time there are plenty of places to eat within a few meters of the hotel. I had dinner at Lucius a seafood restaurant around the corner from the hotel bit was superb! Make a reservation as it got very crowded even on a Monday night. The second night I ate at the Five Flies restaurant. I thought it overpriced and not nearly as good as I had expected based on its reputation. It was just OK. Lots of other restaurants all around and a vibrant cafe scene.

The hotel is immaculate. Lovely lobby with bar, library, comfortable sitting room and coffee and snacks at all hours.

The hotel staff is warm, welcoming, and always helpful. Just a great front desk.

In every way this is a terrific hotel. If you are in Amsterdam you couldn't do better.

I used to stay at the Pulitzer but always found it a bit cold. I won't go back there after having been at the Estherea.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Thaud .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $177 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing