We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Can't say anything bad about the hotel, i had a lovely stay, its a boutique hotel, has a character, staff is very friendly and helpful, you can rent iPad for free for the length of your stay, free wi fi, good location, central station is only 15 minutes walk, will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,865 of 4,011 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Orange Suite was very nice, successfully mixing old with new. The generous layout provides a relaxing atmosphere and compensates for the ground level location. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Amsterdam near one of the Trachten.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phillipp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I chose the Estherea for a brief visit to Amsterdam to see the Rembrandts in the newly reopened rijksmuseum. My choice was made entirely on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor. What a great find!! The hotel is perfectly located with many attractions and great restaurants in easy walking distance. A short walk from the Dam Square and shopping, easy tram access and lovely views from both sides. My room 417 on the Spuistraat side was beautiful. A canopy bed, beautiful big bathroom with great light, a huge tub and a robe and towels that were thick and luxurious. A safe in the closet was free and all the amenities wanted were available. Wifi worked well. The view out my window was lovely and with the windows open there was a bit of lively street noise but no problem at all with windows closed. I chose to have breakfast at the hotel for convenience sake bit was ample and tasty. If you have time there are plenty of places to eat within a few meters of the hotel. I had dinner at Lucius a seafood restaurant around the corner from the hotel bit was superb! Make a reservation as it got very crowded even on a Monday night. The second night I ate at the Five Flies restaurant. I thought it overpriced and not nearly as good as I had expected based on its reputation. It was just OK. Lots of other restaurants all around and a vibrant cafe scene.

The hotel is immaculate. Lovely lobby with bar, library, comfortable sitting room and coffee and snacks at all hours.

The hotel staff is warm, welcoming, and always helpful. Just a great front desk.

In every way this is a terrific hotel. If you are in Amsterdam you couldn't do better.

I used to stay at the Pulitzer but always found it a bit cold. I won't go back there after having been at the Estherea.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Thaud .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we were given a canal view room on the first night.It was far too small and we had a terrible nights sleep.there is construction going on at the moment on a bridge about 30 meters away...so be prepared for early morning noise(7.45am on the saturday)...we asked to be moved and the staff were very helpful...we were moved immediately to a courtyard room which had a decent sized bed and was far quieter,as well as being a much larger room...great location..lovely decor...and friendly,helpful staff

Room Tip: ask for courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoghaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Not sure what to say that has not been said in other reviews. Just back from a weekend at the Estherea with my husband. Could not fault it. The decor is beautiful and the rooms are quite lovely. The breakfast was good and the added touch of having free coffee and cakes etc in the foyer is such a good idea. The hotel is so convenient to all the sights and the staff were so helpful. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We only had one small hiccup with our stay. We ordered room service which didn't arrive after an hour. A quick phone call sorted the problem and the food was provided for free by way of an apology. The one small criticism is the louvre doors on the bathroom rather than a solid door, but this is such a minor point. The food was great, the free tea and coffee next to reception more than welcome. The location is literally a 5 minute walk (if that) from the bustling Dam square, yet is set next to a quiet canal away from it all so is nice and quiet at night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Hotel Estheréa is a beautiful, charming, comfortable and well-situated boutique hotel on the Singel canal. When we arrived earlier than expected at 6 in the morning, we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff and treated to hot chocolate and coffee while our room was prepared. Throughout the day, guests can relax in cozy and quiet lounges on the ground floor where newspapers in several languages and two computers are available for free as are numerous hot drinks, cookies and croissants. The lovely dining room serves a buffet breakfast only. The selection is very good, and the food is delicious. The bar area is also available for a less pricey continental breakfast. Our room 1404 looking out over the canal was beautifully and luxuriously decorated, the bed and duvet were very comfortable and the bathroom was large, with two sinks and a combined shower and tub. Note that the first room we were shown had a tiny bathroom. Since we were staying 9 nights, we asked for a room with a larger bath and were promptly given one with no problem. All areas of the hotel are immaculate and easily accessible by elevator except for the exercise room and common toilet areas which are one level below and reachable only by a slightly winding staircase of about 8 steps. The hotel staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. When asked, the staff will call you a taxi which almost always arrives in less than 5 minutes. The only negatives of this hotel are some of its rooms with bathrooms that are extremely small and the somewhat unsightly construction in process on a canal bridge near the hotel which some people might also find a little noisy. All in all, we could not have enjoyed our stay more at this lovely and reasonably priced hotel and would not think of staying any place else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,825 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,480 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $168 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing