We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel with my husband and our 10yr old daughter.
Everything was fantastic! The welcome gift for our daughter, the complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and tea with biscuits and lollies in the lobby, amazing fish tank, staff who were helpful and friendly and the cleanliness of the rooms was the best we have seen in a long while.

The rooms have everything you need too with iron and board, plenty of electrical sockets, hooks for coats and plenty of cupboard space. I really cannot find fault in this hotel and I am extremely fussy and generally hard to please.

I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples and families.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the open courtyard on the second floor. The curtains block out light so wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with a wonderful canalside situation within easy walking distance of museums, shops, etc., and with a fine choice of restaurants (Dutch, Indonesian, Italian, fish, etc.) within a couple of hundred yards in adjoining Spuistraat. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Questions were always answered and service given with a smile. Our canal view room was very comfortable and both it and the bathroom spotless. There was no noise from within the hotel (as some have commented on) and only occasional street noise coming through our open windows. The downstairs sitting area and bar were comfortable with vases of well-tended flowers. There is free wi-fi here, including two computer terminals. We didn't need wi-fi in the bedroom which was a perhaps slightly expensive 10 euros/day. Breakfasts were self-service from a wide choice of cold and hot food, and free coffee and other drinks and small snacks were available at all times, which is an excellent idea. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice hotel in good location 5 mints walking to center. Hotel nicely decorated clean with good service . we did not used the hotel restaurant their are excellent coffee shops and restaurant close by. Definitely i recommend this hotel specially for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsairafi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A very pleasant, opulent, possibly over the top hotel. You can walk to it from the station in about 20 mins, which is a good idea, because our taxi driver hadnt heard of the Estherea, and then cdnt find it when he got to Singel, the street it is in. Inadequate signage did not help.Rooms overlooking the canal cost 20euro extra per night. The hotel was expensive to start with, and no free wifi in the rooms when all the other lower-priced hotels we stayed in in Europe this trip had free wifi. There was free wifi downstairs in the public area, and it was very nice sitting there enjoying the free tea and coffee etc, and watching the beautiful tropical fish in the tank. Our room was noisy, like a disco in the room. I should have complained earlier but only mentioned it when I checked out and staff cd not explain the noise. At midnight on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, I did not want to invite people in to my room to listen. It stopped around 1am though. The draperies around the bed were unnecessary and just a trap for dust. The room was good, and the bathroom excellent. Go to the bakery around the corner for breakfast, as the hotel breakfast is too expensive. The Estherea is close to great restaurants and shops, and all the tourist attractions, but then Amsterdam is small and most things are within walking distance.The hotel offered canal cruises at a reduced rate. We did the cruise twice. It was excellent, and helped us orient ourselves around the city. I would return to this hotel, but would make sure I got a quiet room, maybe pay the extra 20 euro for the canal side.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 20 euros per night for a room on the canal side. If you are staying at this hotel, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodlejosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. First thing which took our breath away was beautiful aquarium in the lobby. We have salt water aquarium at home and this one was just like a model. lobby area and sitting area was nicely decorated with lots of fresh flowers. Room was cozy, but big enough for two, and practically just for sleeping. we like new huge walk-in shower. There was safe and small fridge in the room. We did not need coffee/tea maker in the room as downstairs was state of art coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine - that with always fresh cookies/cakes was excellent afternoon snack.

Room Tip: close to everything, but on the quiet canal street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaUlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past five years. It is the hotel we like to stay in the Amsterdam due to its location and the friendly staff. However there could be made some minor adjustments to make the stay even better.

1: When sitting on the benches outside, it would be nice if they would clean this area up more often. It is often a sore sign when ashtrays and coffee cups are scattered around.

2: The towels in the rooms needs a serious upgrade. They are thin og worn out

3: A coat rack in the bar would be nice. No place to hang your coat if you come in for a cocktail before or after dinner.

4: Surprised that there were no acknowledgement from the hotel after you are a frequent visitor. And we did not receive the room that we had requested in our reservation.

But these things are minor. We were surprised at the noise coming from Spui this time around and will stay in a canal room next time when we visit in March. Also the new bar setup is nice, and having a bartender there full time is a good touch. The new cocktail menu is very nice and yummy.

Still we will only stay at this hotel when we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElVikingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really loved staying in the Estherea. We mentioned that is was my partner's 30th birthday on arrival and got upgraded to the pinkest suite imaginable! We had a lovely four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, tv in the bathroom and our own sitting area. I didn't want to leave the hotel room! The hotel is relatively centrally located, within walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go but a bit of a walk from the train station. The hotel bar is so opulent and it was lovely just to sit there and watch the fish in the tank! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IfPeopleWereRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $171 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing