We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Plush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really loved staying in the Estherea. We mentioned that is was my partner's 30th birthday on arrival and got upgraded to the pinkest suite imaginable! We had a lovely four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, tv in the bathroom and our own sitting area. I didn't want to leave the hotel room! The hotel is relatively centrally located, within walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go but a bit of a walk from the train station. The hotel bar is so opulent and it was lovely just to sit there and watch the fish in the tank! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IfPeopleWereRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,350
    865
    149
    39
    29
See reviews for
592
1,888
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really liked this hotel!
The room we had was small but very charming.
The down part was that breakfast was really expensive but the venue was really nice.
Coffee,tea,biscuits,small cakes and sweets were available free at all times

The hotel is walking distance from the different sights.

Next time we visit Amsterdam we are going to stay at this hotel again but have breakfast at a bakery around the corner instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent three wonderful days in Amsterdam and the hotel was wonderful (I thoroughly recommend the breakfasts!) It is ideally located for walking everywhere and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday.The location is fantastic, close to many excellent restaurants and tourist attractions.The decor is lavish and over the top and the free beverages are a welcome touch, but unfortunately the hotel did not live up to our expectations. We booked a family triple room and I requested a room overlooking the canal, I was informed the larger rooms overlooked the street, which was quite noisy with the window open.The room was small for 3 people. The towels were of very poor quality, not big and fluffy as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and no bathrobes. The bathroom also needs updating. The mini bar in the room only contained 3 small bottles of water. The hotel does not operate a dining room, but operates a system of bringing food in from a nearby restaurant, I would call this a take away. We did enjoy our stay, but paid over 800 euro just for the room for 2 nights, for what I would consider a glorified bed (breakfast is extra). To see how a city boutique hotel should be run,visit the Covent Garden Hotel in Monmouth Street in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 108TRAVELBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It is a quirky boutique hotel centrally located for sightseeing alongside the Singel Canal.The best rooms without a doubt are those overlooking the canal.The room we occupied was opulently appointed but the bathroom linen was not up to standard for a Four Star hotel.
The reception area,the lounges and the breakfast room were all pleasant and elaborately appointed.Coffee,tea,biscuits,small cakes and sweets were available free at all times.
The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.The morning porter,barman,bar breakfast person went out of his way to be helpful and was to be commended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have the best view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel, and another very good stay. A small traditional hotel which is well run, by friendly, helpful staff and is in an excellent location on the Singel canal.
We were pleased to find our standard room had been upgraded to a deluxe room with a canal view and it was noticeably bigger than the room we had last time. I would still not call it a big room, but this is Amsterdam. It was very comfortable and was let down only by the very small bathroom, about as small as it could get and still be able to use it!
We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food, but the bar is good and now sports a full-time barman, which is an improvement from last year when the bar frequently seemed to be unattended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Estherea and could not be happier with my experience. The hotel is beautifully decorated; I really loved the lounging areas in and around the lobby. The staff was very honest and helpful as well. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing