We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estherea
Nearby Hotels
$337
$285
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$294
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$294
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$301
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$302
$209
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$248
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$561
$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,223)
Filter reviews
4,223 results
Traveler rating
2,961
998
178
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,961
998
178
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hotelcanal view roomdam squarecomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areaanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotellovely roommajor attractionswalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
2,107 - 2,112 of 4,223 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for old world charm this hotel has it. Stayed here two weeks ago and was very happy with the helpful and friendly staff. We were within walking distance to many attractions including The Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. They offer a wonderful breakfast buffet which is worth the additional cost. I am a clean freak and they did not disappoint our room was spotless. Walk one block and you have many restaurants to choose for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal which was on the quiet side of the hotel,
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here 4 times And it gets better every time, lovely rooms, excellent staff and positioned perfectly to tour this great city. Since we first stayed this hotel has become really popular and you need to book early.

Room Tip: Anyone overlooking the. Canal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgemeister2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4 days at the Hotel Estherea. Our entourage include my wife and I and our two (typically rambunctious) young children. We were very pleased with the hotel, and absolutely recommend it for a stay in what is undoubtedly one of the most underrated cities in Europe for families, The Estherea is well located in the heart of Amsterdam, with an attractive, and authentic European boutique feel. They have a welcoming staff that was professional and courteous, and capably assisted with all requests.

We had 2 connecting rooms --- a suite leading to a deluxe room --- that were well presented, clean, handsomely decorated, and perfectly charming. They protected us from the hustle and flow of this vibrant city as we enjoyed wonderfully quiet and sleep filled evenings.

We enjoyed the lounge, bar, and library areas of the hotel, all of which gave an appropriately refined, yet unpretentious elegance to the Estherea. In the lobby, next to the bar, is an amenities area with complimentary beverages and pastries and snacks, which we thought was a nice (and convenient) touch. Also a nice touch was the free wi-fi. I'm more than happy to pay for premium service and luxury hotels, but please don't gouge me on the incidentals. Well done there, Estherea. :) Breakfast was very good, and the choices of both hot and cold dishes were plentiful and fresh. The hotel does have room service during the day and evening, but we ate all of our meals out, other than breakfast. The gym was nicely outfitted as well.

All in all, what you see is what you get with the Estherea: An excellent, charming, and well located hotel in the middle of a great European capital city. If you wanted to spend 3 or 4 days in Amsterdam, (as a family or as a couple), I would have no qualms recommending the Hotel Esherea. It's a great find, and one to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Estherea is a beautifully appointed boutique hotel, well located in the heart of Amsterdam. Not exactly inexpensive, and not the largest of rooms, but the lobby areas and the rooms are beautifully decorated and the convenient location make this hotel work. We booked through the hotel's site and received free wireless in our rooms as a bonus. The staff was helpful enough when prompted, but I couldn't call anyone particularly warm. It would have been nice if our stay included continental breakfast for all, but alas breakfast was an add on at 18 Euro per adult. In summary, a nice stay but perhaps not the best value.

Room Tip: Canal side quieter than the street side
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were thrilled with this hotel - great location, wonderful atmosphere, comfortable bed, good service, free wi-fi and use of computers in the lobby, clean and well-appointed rooms, nice restaurant. We stayed in a room facing the back street with many businesses and it was quiet on a Thursday night but pretty noisy on Friday night. Good coffee, tea, cookies, and cakes are available throughout the day in the lobby. Some rooms face onto an interior courtyard and would be claustrophobic so I was glad to have a room with a view.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room facing the canal - it would be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews