We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This boutique hotel is central to the Dam, the museums, train station, and canal tours - all easily walkable. Spotlessly clean. Comfy public areas with complimentary hot drinks, newspapers, computer access in the lobby. Stayed twice in July and were very happy with the lovely room decor, comfortable beds, and pleasant front desk staff. The rooms are fairly small - but to be expected in an older building. Very satisfied both visits and we would certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jed39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    940
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,094
119
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! The exterior is unassuming and discreet. We had no idea it would be so lovely inside! It's exquisite! We were warmly welcomed and taken to two adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor. Each room was gorgeous and immaculately clean. They were the most comfortable sheets and pillows I've ever experienced in a hotel. It was so clean that I even used the jacuzzi twice & that usually grosses me out in a hotel.

Breakfast was lovely. There were hot dishes like eggs and waffles in addition to many kinds of fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries & even champagne. There is always coffee, tea & cold drinks available in the lobby in addition to several kinds of candy and cookies. One afternoon we had croissants. The bar is gorgeous and we had nachos & guacamole one evening while we read and relaxed in the library area of the lobby.

Everyone who works here was friendly and helpful from the porter who brought us up to our room & gave us directions to the front desk staff. I had trouble printing my boarding passes for the flight home and the clerk invited me behind the desk to try it using his computer. They could not have been more helpful.

The location is perfect! We walked to most everything we wanted to do and the neighborhood is lovely and not seedy at all. Highly recommend!

There are so many wonderful things to say about the Hotel Estherea. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal. The rear street can be loud at night. For free wifi book your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Netlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We came here in early June for a short city break of about 4 days.
On arrival we were quickly seen to and given the key to our room. The room itself was a bit small but average for a hotel this close to the centre I believe.The staff were very helpful with our enquiries about the area such as places to eat etc. The only downside to our stay here was the damaged windows, the handles of which were completely broken so we couldn't close them, lucky for us the weather was very good so we had no need to anyway.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms probably have a better view. Ours wasn't canal side but it was top floor so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Can't say much bad about this nice 4 star hotel. We were the typical early AM flight arrival. Got to the hotel at 9am not expecting much sympathy considering the published checkin time. We were greeted with smiles and free tea/coffee and allowed to loiter in the quiet and comfortable library adjacent the lobby. The sofa is great for napping! The house keeping staff even gave my wife a pillow and blanket so she could rest comfortably after our long overnight flight. Our room was available before 12pm and our luggage was in our room waiting for us. The room had a great view over the street and was the only room with a balcony, which was great for quiet evenings with take away dinner at our little roof top table. The room could get cool at night considering it is summer in Europe and the central heating was turned off. This however was easily rectified by the hotel providng a small space heater. There is a little traffic noise from the street, but none more than a typical city street. The most annoying noise comes from the Harley drivers late at night, but its a rare occurrence rather than anything continuous. Breakfast at the hotel is adequate if you are not the type to venture out in the morning, however several nearby cafes would be a better price alternative. My wife prefers simple things for breakfast and the hotel was quiet happy to oblige by making oatmeal on the cool mornings. Only negative is that the elevators are small and if everyone decides to checkout at once from all five floors it can be a challenge. Once at the lobby though the staff are always friendly and happy to help with pretty much any request. Had a great stay and would definately stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCI-KBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat of Garten
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel has a lovely welcoming foyer with delightful and helpful staff. The bedrooms were quaint and comfortable if a little pricey. The free coffee, cakes and sweets in the foyer was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a beautiful, perfectly situated hotel. The decor is impecable, the staff are very professional but friendly. It is situated on the Singal canal which leads to the quieter areas of Amsterdam and yet only a stones through from Dam Square. The decor is impecable with muted colours and fabulous chandeliers

Room Tip: Stairs very steep but two very good elivators, possible higher up would be quieter but not sure as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipneylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing