We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved this hotel !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I had read the reveiws on tripsdvisor and other sites and decided to book this hotel for our stay in Amsterdam . Wow I'm so glad I did .. It is a beautiful hotel with chandeliers and a beautiful and cozy lobby/sitting area . It felt more like home or an estate property. Its look is an elegant, classy old world style. You can sit in the lobby and read , use the computer (they have 2 of them nothing fancy but it's free and it works) or have a drink st the cozy bar or have a coffee.
They serve breakfast it looked good but we opted to go around the corner and get fresh breads and sweet rolls and eat them in the lobby with the free coffee and cafe latte they have all day for no charge. If you use equal or any other sweetener that is not sweet n low you will need to make sure you take it on your trip to Europe because you will not find any sweetener only sweet n low.
The rooms are beautiful . The bathroom very large with a great shower.. The bed very comfortable and so were the pillows.they have a small frige with water for no charge you can also put your own drinks in there.
The location.. Perfect - we walked everywhere we were a few blocks from the flower market .. The palace was also a few blocks away. You can walk every where and you can take the tram to the train station and the red light district ect .. The hotel is across one of the canals and around the corner there are lots of places to eat and drink..
I can't wait to go back I loved our stay there the bar drinks were also very good ..
The day we left I had a brand new camera in the box that fell out of my bag in my room.. When we arrived in Prague 3 hrs later I realized I did not have my camera.. I called the hotel and was told the maid had found it and turned it in and they would keep it for me in a safe place until I picked it up in my wSy home.. That to me says a lot about an establishment having honest employees. Don't hesitate at all I promise you won't regret the hotel and it's location.. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jossie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    891
    154
    40
    32
See reviews for
625
1,976
114
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my girlfriend in january/february and it was a perfect match for us. Very helpful staff, a beautiful reception cat and inviting, romantic rooms. We usually ordered a wine or beer in the bar after long days of exploring Amsterdam, and both agreed the hotel was one of our best hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent three wonderful days at HE earlier this month. The location is superb in this very walkable city. The reception staff were helpful except for help on tickets for Anne Frank House. (As an aside, just show up a few minutes before nine and the line moves very quickly.) the coffee bar was nice since the weather was a bit rainy and raw. The rooms are small, but adequate in every way. There is construction on a bridge outside the window. Did not bother us, but it does compromise the view.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 and loved it. We found it to be within walking distance of everything we wanted to see, and there are lots of restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is unassuming from the outside but feels sumptuous when you enter the lobby. It has an elegant lobby and just off the lobby is a nice library-type area with chairs, and couches, etc. They have complimentary coffee and tea and snacks available all day so you can sit and relax and rejuvenate after a long day of sight-seeing. There is also a small bar that is open 24 hours, which is also nice. We did not try their breakfast buffet, although we did order room service before leaving for the airport on our last morning, and we were brought way more food than we could possibly eat, so very generous portions, especially compared to what I've seen at other hotels. The only negative is that we had a light out in our bathroom, and we told the front desk as we left one morning for sightseeing. They said they would take care of it but they didn't. Hope the lack of response isn't indicative of their responsiveness to larger issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LawandWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for 4 days from 17-21April 2013. Simply wonderful. Clean and fantastic staff hospitality...the black resident cat at the lobby was friendly too. Definitely deserves next stay for future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mas Illazreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the Orange Suite. We loved it. The room was lovely. Every single staff member was gracious, friendly, and accommodating. The breakfast was a bit pricey but fantastic (many, many options, including Champagne) in a great atmosphere, so worth every penny. The decor is really fun. The hotel kitty in the lobby is soft and friendly. Very comfortable bed and strong shower pressure. The location is absolutely perfect: close enough to the hubbub of the old city area, but on the border of the serene canal district. I am serious: stay here.

Room Tip: Orange suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO,CA
Level Contributor
267 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Small and quaint, this is your Dutch hotel if you intend to stay close by all that Amsterdam has to offer without walking miles and miles to the attractions. Located on a canal, with beautiful rooms, a very, very friendly and helpful staff, free coffee, tea, and candies an ideal location. However, one note of caution, the bridge across the canal is being rebuilt from top to bottom, so construcrion noise starts around 7AM and continues until 4PM or so. Should you wish to sleep in this could is an issue for you and somewhat detracts from the canal view rooms as the bridge is almost right in front of you. Also, note the comings and goings all night long of people walking along the canal at all hours of the night is also an issue should you be a light sleeper, I would suggest maybe an interior room which would shield one , I would think, from some of the noise issue. Otherwise, we loved the hotel and the close location to the main square.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #210 for a canal view room however, the canal bridge construction was a bif issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing