We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
SAN DIEGO,CA
Level Contributor
277 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Small and quaint, this is your Dutch hotel if you intend to stay close by all that Amsterdam has to offer without walking miles and miles to the attractions. Located on a canal, with beautiful rooms, a very, very friendly and helpful staff, free coffee, tea, and candies an ideal location. However, one note of caution, the bridge across the canal is being rebuilt from top to bottom, so construcrion noise starts around 7AM and continues until 4PM or so. Should you wish to sleep in this could is an issue for you and somewhat detracts from the canal view rooms as the bridge is almost right in front of you. Also, note the comings and goings all night long of people walking along the canal at all hours of the night is also an issue should you be a light sleeper, I would suggest maybe an interior room which would shield one , I would think, from some of the noise issue. Otherwise, we loved the hotel and the close location to the main square.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #210 for a canal view room however, the canal bridge construction was a bif issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,583
    922
    159
    41
    32
See reviews for
654
2,065
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice in Amsterdam and a great value. We paid 120EUR for a classic room which had a lot of Dutch touches (blue and white wallpaper, old city pictures) and a great bathroom. The lobby is warm and inviting and coffee/refreshments could be found all day. But truly I give five stars to the location, which could NOT be better: close to the fabulous Nine Streets, on one of the most beautiful canals, two minutes walk to the tram station and yet far away from the tourist crowd. Would most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I loved this hotel. If you like "old world" you will love this place. The location is good - central to almost everything and right on the canal. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and well decorated. I loved the bathroom - 2 sinks and, in addition to the shower, a big, comfortable bathtub. it also has an elevator which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The high points: great location, luxurious beds, pillows and duvet, adequate lighting (a rare thing in hotels, even good ones), adequate closet and drawer space as well as hangers, a delicious though expensive breakfast, free wifi of sufficient speed, a friendly house cat, and the most spectacular flower arrangements I've ever seen. Also, the hotel is well-staffed and everyone's reasonably friendly.

Not so high points: tub with shower is narrow and extremely slippery, towels are thin, no robes are on offer, the "body shampoo" must be milked with some effort from wall-mounted dispensers, there is little space for personal toiletries, nowhere to hang the hand towel near the sink, and the room decor is over the top frippery, too fussy by about 30 yards of fabric. If you tend toward contemporary styling, this is not the place for you. Also, if you'd like to mix with non-Americans, ditto.

Room Tip: We got a regular king bed while our friends here, tho upgraded, got two twins pushed together. So as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnastasiaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAZIL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Big rooms, nice decorations, excellent bathroom with 2 sinks, hidromassagem and a warm floor.
Breakfast is one if the best I ever had. They don't provide wifi for free, you have to pay for each 24 h. Nevertheless the hotel lend you a IPad with wifi for free, that's what I didn't understand why. The location is good, near restaurants, shops and tram stops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHEILA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July of 2012.
The hotel is centrally located and near to many Amsterdam sights.
Beautiful lobby, breakfast rooms, bar, and our own room was very nice as well with a view out into the canal. Smallish with an updated bathroom.
The staff really went out of their way to help us with anything we asked about, with friendly dispositions and smiling all the time. It's really amazing how much of a difference this can make-even if, like myself, you generally choose a place to stay for other reasons.
We had to leave a day earlier than expected and they didn't charge for this sudden notice.
Truly a top notch hotel and I hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancestralvoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have to ditto the high praise of other reviewers of this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights in late April, but just before the April 30 festivities for the new king's ascent. When we first arrived on the train from the airport, we tried to take a cab and the driver refused to take us because he said you can walk to the hotel from the station. We tried that without success, and after a call to the hotel, we confirmed that a taxi was needed especially with luggage on the cobblestone streets. The staff at the hotel was invariably helpful and efficient. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the canal. Construction was going on right in front of the hotel on a canal bridge and the jackhammers started at 8 am, but we were up before then. We didn't use the breakfast service, but suggest that might be a good idea for travelers who eat breakfast, since breakfast places in the area didn't seem to open before 10 and not until 11 on Sundays. The common area in the lobby is especially well decorated, with a fun fish tank and gorgeous fresh flowers. The self service cappuccino/espresso tea bar in the lobby is a special treat and the sweets under the glass-domed server in the afternoon were delicious. Everything from stroopwaffels to cinnamon pastries, candies and chocolates. The 2 computers in the lobby were helpful to purchase online tickets and check emails. Each day, 2 bottles of water were provided at no charge. The staff gave us good recommendations on restaurants and advice on train schedules and taxi service. Good location to get to the Dam Square, Anne Frank House and most central sights. Comfortable room and attractively decorated. A great place to base your Amsterdam visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing