We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to visit again”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Hope to visit again”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are just back from a three night stay and there is nothing more we can add to the already great reviews this hotel receives and more so deserves. It was our wedding anniversay and our room which overlooked the canal was great.
The hotel had also left us a note congratulating us on our anniversary with two small bottles pf Perseco and a tin of biscuits which was a nice touch.
The breakfast/restaurant area was great with lots of choices on display.
We pre booked and visited the nearby Anne Frank house at 11am and that was leaving the hotel at twenty to eleven we were still ten minutes early. The hotel is just well so placed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,708
    954
    165
    45
    33
See reviews for
697
2,148
121
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I honeymoon'd here in February 2013 and our three night stay was pretty perfect. To put it simply, the decor is gorgeous, the rooms are large, the jet bathtub is divine (truly), the location is fantastic, and the lobby has a complimentary self-serve coffee/tea bar that is such a treat. The service is top-notch, too--we had an issue with nightly noise/smoking from our neighboring room, and the hotel promptly relocated us to fresh room on a higher floor. Wonderful! I really can't say enough about this hotel, and if you stay here (which you should!), be sure to visit the little "Broodje Bert" eatery just steps away--their sandwiches are seriously delicious.

Room Tip: Like others have said, request a room on a higher floor to lessen road noise. You won't be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great! Nice staff, beautiful decor and room size was very good. Love the 4 poster bed and the double windows with small balcony. We had a street side room on the 1st floor which you could hear some street noise but didn't bother us too much.
Great little bar open 24 hours which came in handy and free coffee and tea at all times in the lobby.
Great location- located directly on a canal and can walk pretty much everywhere from the hotel. Lots of restaurants, bars and "coffee shops" very close by.
The only downside of the hotel is that you have to pay for wifi, they really need to make it free! Other than that the hotel was great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was very pleased with the quality of The Hotel Estherea. The staff was very helpful in every way and the breakfasts are fantastic! We were traveling with an older woman and she LOVED the bar and lounge area. I will for sure return to the Estherea some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magda38836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Room and hotel lobby were stunning, loved the free hot drinks and treats in the lobby. We booked the jacuzzi room however the motor for the jacuzzi was so loud it was pretty much unusable, but the bathroom and room were pretty much perfect otherwise. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a lovely little sitting area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghamilton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in an excellent location. Hotel decor is lovely and the staff are friendly and professional. Complimentary hot drinks and treats in reception area is a nice touch. Rooms are comfortable and clean and are decorated very nicely even if rather on the small side. Valentine's day function was a treat and free wine and champagne were given to hotel guests. Would not hesitate in recommending Hotel Estherea to friends and family who wish to visit the wonderful city of Amsterdam.,. Thank you Hotel Esthera for making our 3 day trip to Amsterdam such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We booked a classic room, but would consider upgrading to a canal view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pysgoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love this hotel so much I planned my last trip to Amsterdam around when they had availability! it is just a delight.... The decor, service, breakfast buffet, location just can't be beat. There is a wonderful coffee/tea bar open 24 hours, which is really nice when dealing with jet lag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,149 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing