We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #21 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend with my two little boys in Amsterdam. I've stayed in many nice places around the world and I can't say enough about this hotel. It is centrally located near the train station and close to all the nice shops, restaurants and sights. For me, this is the perfect boutique hotel. Beautifully decorated lobby, friendly staff, and lots of extras for the guests in the lobby (computers to check emails, newspapers & magazines, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate). The room was gorgeous with nice bedding and a large bathroom. I just wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel. I have to commend the hotel staff as everything (hotel room and common areas) was maintained in tip top shape. Only one complaint in this digital age was that wifi was not free. Nevertheless, I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parisfornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 4,069 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend here.Hotel located in lovely area of Amsterdam with plenty of cafes,restaurants and individual shops nearby and within walking distance of most major attractions.We had a canal view room on the first floor ,it was spacious,sumptuously decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom however was tiny and had a louvre door,so little privacy!There was very poor sound insulation and we could hear ablutions from the room above!
The hotel staff were without exception,helpful,friendly,courteous and knowledgable.The buffet breakfast was superb and had everything you could possibly want and was of high quality.The public rooms were opulently decorated and completely OTT but in a good way! There was excellent coffee,tea ,sweets,biscuits etc. available 24 hours a day for free.Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!A unique hotel far nicer than a corporate hotel experience only slightly mared by the minute bathroom and noise issue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abc55Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is a visual feast from the moment you walk into the lobby!

Staff are very friendly, happy and helpful.

We asked for a quiet room and we got a very quiet room (Room 318, view of a little courtyard) Lovely, large room with huge bed, fabulously decorated, exceptionally clean and with everything you need.

Friends of ours booked a canal view room and were in 310 which was also very, very nice and quiet (according to our friends, but they did say they're heavy sleepers, so do take that into account!)

Our room had a great size bathroom with 2 sinks + shower over bathtub. Very quiet. Bed is very comfortable - actually have had the best night's sleep here I've had in a long time. The room also has a day bed which is cute and comfy!

Area around the hotel is gorgeous, very charming with lots of little bars and restaurants and cafes.

The hotel lobby is divided into the reception area plus a few sitting areas - one a bar, the other more of a lounge. Plus there's a great library. There are little treats everywhere! Cookies, truffles (the chocolate kind..!), coffee, tea, iced water with fresh mint, lollies... And the flowers are stunning!

We highly recommend this hotel. It's lovely and so comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 318 very quiet. Canal view from 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A very nice hotel in many respects. But there was incredible noise through the ceiling from the room above which prevented us sleeping. When we complained in the middle of the night, the hotel wasn't much help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank BenCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Estherea in January 2013. We loved the hotel which was very well situated and free tea,coffee biscuits and lollies in the foyer.We stayed at other hotels that were twice as expensive through europe and the only one we would revisit is Hotel Estherea.The staff were helpful and friendly.We only had a basic room and it was very pretty with a good sized bathroom.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cheryl




s

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

what a gem! This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. It is very central, easy walking distance to anywhere in Amsterdam. Service was excellent and friendly. Hot drinks on tap at any time of the night or day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcoop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really good place to stay, close to the center but very quiet at the same time.
Excellent staff and a free iPad to use for the duration of the stay!
Very clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend!
Thank you all at Hotel Estherea :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $146 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing