We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, luxuriously decorated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Centrally located, luxuriously decorated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Estheria for two nights in December and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. It is in a good location- walking distance to many of Amsterdam's sights, as well as many restaurants. We chose a canal view room, which was lovely, but a little noisy at night. Our room was rather spacious, but the bathroom was tiny, fit only for one person at a time and not very private (but again, this is to be expected in Amsterdam). Staff were extremely friendly and polite, and the decor of the hotel is just beautiful. It's a little disappointing that wifi is not included in the room rate (unless you book directly throughout the hotel), but computers with Internet access are available free of charge in the lobby. There is also a tea and coffee station with complimentary cakes, biscuits and sweets, which was a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again, should we return to Amsterdam.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EducatedShopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    864
    147
    38
    29
See reviews for
591
1,883
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had an excellent stay here from 7th Dec-9th Dec celebrating my partners Birthday. Beautiful decor and staff very pleasant. Free tea & coffee throughout our stay, the only quibble I had was breakfast was €18... So we never had and ate round the corner for €10. This aside, will definitely be staying here again!! X

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rooms are nicer than average. Location is good. But I asked for a 6 am wake up call that simply never came. I missed my train because of it and my day was effectively compromised. To make matters worse, rather than immediately apologizing the manager instead spent his time explaining why he is not responsible for the actions of the night staff. Unacceptable. Not only his attitude but also the inability of the hotel to fulfill a very basic service.

This does not happen at 4 star hotels.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 72worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Second time in the hotel in two years and they haven't missed a beat. Our stay was December (last stay was in summer), so the hotel was (even more) beautifully decorated, with fairy lights outside, and some added lights in the breakfast area, and the hotel deer at the entrance to the breakfast room.
Room: as always, book early, and say you want a quiet room. Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing into the opposite side of rooms of the townhouse which makes up this beautiful hotel. It
was quiet, spacious, great bathroom with wonderful lightly orange- scented toileteries and a great comfortable bed. It was truly cosseting to come back to the hotel each time after we had been out. Heating works fine and controls are sensitive so you can have it at your own perfect temperature.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, each one carefully and thougtfully decorated.
Breakfast: is unbeatable, beautifully laid out, with everything you can think of eating, and it all looks so good, fresh Real Food ! After a breakfast, you do not need more than a bun for lunch.
Extras: There's free help-yourself tea and coffee, hot chocolate and nuts and snacks all day long, lovely seating areas with newspapers, big table in the corner where you can access internet if you do not want to check emails in your room (free and good fast connection)
Location: perfect for nine streets, restaurants and the trams.
Stay here and nowhere else for a perfect hotel which will make all the difference to your holiday in Amsterdam. The Estherea is definitely #1 whether for a group of friends or family, or for a romantic break.
Restaurant tip: Book Tempoe Deloe nearby for a delicious authentic Rijstaffel dinner, Utrechtstraat 75.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the room you want. It is not necessary to get a canal-front room, in fact the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Been travelling around Middle East and Europe for more than 3 months now, stayed only in 5 star hotels, Sofitel (Lisbon, Brussels, Budapest and St James London), Intercontinental (Prague and Amman), and NH Luxury collection (Madrid).

Hotel Estherea is the first 4 star boutique hotel I stayed so far. I am impressed by the location of hotel, friendliness of staff, and the deco is tasteful.

However, there is NO kettle provided in the room. Understood that hot water (from coffee machine) is provided in the lobby, with broad range of tea bags and coffee collections, but it is way more convenient if hot water can be obtained in the room, I always like to have hot coffee in the morning to help myself wake up, and it will be nice that I can get my hot coffee in the room whenever I like it without going downstairs...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZ_TravelBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic location on Singel and a lavish reception are and bar - a lovely little hotel. Out of season there are good rates to be had but be aware that the standard rooms are quite small and not facing the canalfront - be prepared to pay a bit extra for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

An excellent stopover, well located and the many little "extras" made it a high quality 4 star option. Staff were exceptional, and all aspects of the room and excellent library and bar area were high quality and immaculate. The only limitation is lack of full restaurant service. (breakfast only on offer)
Attention to detail in presentation and cleanliness showed that staff were proud of their work and happy to work for this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KMBAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing