We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely canal-side hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
harrogate, yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely canal-side hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel last weekend and was impressed! As I was travelling with my teenage daughter I was keen to stay in a hotel that was centrally located but in a nice safe area and this fits the bill perfectly - a few minutes walk from Dam Square but on a peaceful canal. We treated ourselves to a deluxe canal view room and it was delightful although it could not be described as quiet - we were on the first floor and the noise outside and also within the hotel was slightly irritating. The staff were very pleasant and the complimentary drinks in the lobby area were very welcome! We ate breakfast in the hotel which was not cheap but as we were only there one day we decided to push the boat out and enjoyed a very relaxing Sunday morning. My only complaint is that, in my view, a hotel at this price (nearly £300 b&b) should provide free WiFi throughout the hotel and certainly in all rooms - a small point maybe but our far more modest hotel in Paris the previous two nights did so and it made a huge difference to us. Amsterdam itself has become much busier since my last visit some 20 years ago but notwithstanding the obvious seedy side we always felt safe even walking through the red light area. The purpose of our trip was predominantly to visit Anne Franks house which was well worth it but if you go I strongly advise you to book tickets in advance as we did - you just ring a bell and are let straight in whilst everyone else has to queue for ages!! Overall a good trip and I would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,347
    864
    147
    38
    29
See reviews for
591
1,883
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been using the Estherea for many years now and stayed there again in late October. I had booked using their 'Friends of Estherea' facility which meant that breakfast was included - although the receptionist had to be twice reminded of this! The hotel is very well located within a 5-minute walk of Dam Square and overlooks the quiet Singel Canal. I was allocated a room which overlooks Spuistraat at the back of the hotel. The noise from the street kept me awake each night and the soundproofing between rooms needs to be improved. The hotel needs to take these facts into account when pricing rooms which are far from cheap, although very comfortable and bordering on luxurious. Free coffee and snacks are available in the lobby which is a nice touch. Local restaurants in Spuistraat and within a few minutes walk are worth exploring (try Humphrey's on Spuistraat for their inclusive 3-course Menu).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking Spuistraat due to overnight noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingScotsman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Romantic fantasies fulfilled! Crystal chandeliers & flowers abound. Located on innermost canal, easy walk to Dam Square (North), Jordaan & Anne Frank House (West), Flowermarket (South)Kalverstraat Shopping & Red Light districts (N.East) & trams to all else. Luxurious salons to relax from the day; expresso machine and treats always available. Our room was the best, larger than most with THREE windows overlooking canal, 4 poster bed with curtains, & numerous pillows. Comfy bed. Mr. Singh at front desk graciously arranged massages, restaurant ideas, etc & was delightful. Let us check in early. Worth the money, will go back again. Favorite hotel of trip. Breakfast too $, but take 1st 3 lefts out front door to tasty & good deal Pain bakery (divine apple tarts!) Taxi from airport apx $100: instead take train to Central Station, then short tram ride to Dam Square & short walk down Singel canal.

Room Tip: Room over canal was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureShotSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Could not have asked for a nicer stay. Hotel is lovely, central, quiet, cozy, and beautifully decorated. A third generation Dutch family establishment that made us feel at home.The staff was very personable and helpful. I particularly loved the free coffe/tea/latte machine available 24 hours a day. Also, the lounge in the lobby was a great place to have a drink before or after you went out to dine. We stayed three days. The price for one day was twice as much as the other two, but the total cost was appropriate for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton fl
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything was perfect; the front desk is very helpful, the public areas are over-the-top dramatic with los of charm. The breakfast is a feast and the room was clean and very pretty. Location is very handy and right on a canal. We opted for a room with no view, but peaked into a canal view room and it was lovely (great for honeymooners!) They have great cookies, snacks and hot drinks in the lobby, just help yourself. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel Estherea and the staff are wonderful. The prices are a bit steep but worth it if you want a luxurious stay in the heart of Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the Dam square, the Spui, restaurants, Kalverstraat shopping area, the Flowermarket and the peaceful Jordaan area. You can get to the busy and seedy areas easily but Estherea is removed from that scene located on the lovely Singel...the original canal circling the city dating from the 14th century. We took a canal view room and had no trouble with noise and blackout curtains ensure a good sleep. The view onto the canal was great too!
We did have difficulty parking the car we brought into town since the parking meters would not accept our various credit cards for processing. A nice hotel staff member named Steve tried several parking machines with us and in the end offered us to park in a hotel garage a street over at a rate even cheaper than the street parking. Amsterdam is not a great city for cars.
The hotel itself is beautiful but old of course so the elevator is small and the stairs a bit steep. But the decor is elegant and sophisticated, and the staff is gracious and very helpful. I've previously stayed at the Hotel Europe and the Ambassade in A'dam and the Estherea is in the same league. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,289 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing