We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe double room. It was like staying in someone's home! It was very cute. We also had a view of one of the canals.

The only con is that the bathroom is very tiny.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candacegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 4,010 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

we came here in aug and would give it 5 stars but room was on the small size for three people
that said we would stay here again i would like to give this 4 1/2 stars if i could
hotel staff was wonderful and breakfast was included in the price and was very nice
great location
near everything

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and made sure we booked a canal view room we were left somewhat disappointed with our stay. The decor is brilliant and we were suitably impressed by the sumptuous dark wood, chandeliers and comfortable seating in the lobby area. Free tea and coffee etc added to our delighted first impression . Things went downhill after checking into our room. The bathroom was basic with a shower over a fairly narrow bath and old fashioned shower curtain. The doors were swing type with louvres with a gap down the middle. The elegant decor was spoilt by massive overstuffed cushions that looked nice but were no good for anything so had to be piled up on the floor. There was no tea and coffee making as you were expected to call room service between 7am and 11pm or go down to the lobby. So who wants to wake up at 6am and go down to the lobby for a hot drink? The room approx 250 euros a night but we had no free wifi. Altogether too many negatives regarding the room.
On the plus side breakfast was excellent and well worth the extra. Also all staff were friendly and helpful. The location was superb but we would not return to this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hermione42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked hotel estherea as we have stayed there a few times before. As usual we found it to be a warm, friendly atmosphere, lovley clean rooms and friendly helpful staff. We needed a quiet, relaxing break away from the stresses of home life, and got just that. would not hesitate to go back. would definately use easytobook.com again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

had a real nice time the rooms were nice the beds were comfortable and it was nice and quiet and everything was on your doorstep would stay again also the staff were friendly and helpful the dinner was nice also there was a big choice

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DearBard
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Pros: very helpful staff (found a nice room for us, helped with most of our questions); very central location, but not on the busiest street/canal – so does not feel too touristic; great breakfast (although not included, we were happy to pay EUR 18 pp as it had everything you wanted, all v good quality and delicious); free coffee and snacks throughout the day in the halls downstairs; complimentary water in the room; free internet; very safe (the door is closed during the night, you can only enter if you are the guest); quite lively area with lots of bars, restos, markets, etc.

Cons: family rooms do not have canal view; empty mini bar; small bathroom in the family room; on arrival hotel actually blocks the total amount for your stay on your account (does not just take your card details for security reasons, as many other hotels throughout the world) – so be careful when using debit cards and not having tons of money on it – next day you may end up not being able to use your card.

Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaElyasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $171 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing